Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent and easy to prepare. I made it in the crockpot. I cooked it on low for seven hours. Used the advise of previous reviews: used additional seasonings, and substituted beef broth for the water. The meat fell apart when touched with a fork which is hard to imagine with round steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did have to alter simply becauseI didn't have all the ingredients. I used beef boullion, a cut up onion the cream of mushroom soup and it turned out tender and delicious. I did sneak a couple tablespoons of sour cream in too. My picky sons loved it! I made egg noodles for it to go over but I would also make it with mashed potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Not great... not horrible... just ok. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I loved the recipe. I did alter it. I seasoned it with steak seasoning, tenderized it with a meat mallet, dredged it in flour, I fried my steak in a half of inch of oil for 3 mins on each side. Then pat dry excess oil off. Then placed in casserole dish, I then mixed two cans of mushroom soup and 1 jar of Heinz savory beef gravy in a bowl. Stirred and mixed well, I poured it over the meat in cassorole dish. I cover with foil (couldn't find my casserole top) and baked on 350 for 1 hour. Came out very tender, like country fried steak. Served with rice and used the extra gravy to pour on top of rice. Delicious. Thanks for the mushroom soup & gravy combo. Much easier than gravy from scratch and thicker & richer than gravy in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and my family loved it. My husband said it was a keeper and my 9 year old who is a picky eater said she would rate this recipe a 5. I had some fresh mushrooms in the refrigerator that I sliced on top that added some more flavor. I also used lipton onion soup mix instead of french onion soup because that is what I had in the house. I will be making this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
this turned out great...someone gave me some round steak and i didn't know what to do with it so i tried this recipe. i did make it in the crock pot...2 hours on high 4 on low. used beefy onion soup mix, 2 cans water, chopped up onions and garlic as well. thickened with cornstarch at the end. meat was good and tender and there was tons of delicious gravy! oerfect with mashed potatoes. a little on the salty side...definitely doesn't need any extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I heated a skillet on top the stove and browned the meat. I mixed the soup mix and cream of mushroom in a bowl with the water and poured it over the meat in the roaster. I added peeled carrots and potatoes and seasoned the entire pan with parsley and pepper. increased oven heat to 350 and cut 1/2 hour time. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I have made this dish a number of times and my whole family loves it every time. Instead of canned French Onion Soup I always use the soup mix in all kinds of varieties and use broth instead of water. I do bake it on a higher temp and less time, then add cornstarch in the last 1/2 hour (and water if necessary) to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I found this to be an awesome meal. My family loved this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Very good basic recipe. I had this in the oven in literally ten minutes. It came out flavorful and tender. I would make this again. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States