Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I started with really nice round steaks, about 1/2" thick. Although the gravy turned out plentiful, easy, and good, the steaks were ruined. Dry, even with gravy. Disappointing. I notice that others cooked it much longer, in a crockpot, and maaaaybe I'll try that when I have time; but I needed it done in a couple hours and was glad to find this recipe, but it just didn't work for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tasty AND easy! A flavorful, simple meal for those cold winter days. I did add some garlic powder before searing in a bit of oil. Put the meat in the crockpot and poured the soup (like others, I used dried french onion w/ water because it was what I had on hand). Served over mashed potatoes. How easy is that? Entire family loved it! Thanks CAPKO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I used the flip steaks and the soups and 1 cup water. I also dredged the steaks in flour before I browned them. It came out perfectly. I cooked for an hour and had to add a little water towards the last 15 minutes. The gravy was thick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Easy, I thought it needed a little more something. I added a little red wine and some garlic salt and subbed the water for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Would have liked to see the gravy thicker and like a gravy, but it was pretty good otherwise. I sliced the meat into thin strips and put in the slow cooker. Smelled heavenly throughout the day. Served with side of rice (which is why I wanted a thicker gravy) and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really good and so easy. Used golden mushroom soup, half can of milk, 1 package of lipton soup mix and a cup of water. Good, but a little salty, may only use 1/2 a packet of soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A little salty, but good. I dredged the tenderized round steak in a little flour, salt & pepper before searing. I used a can of mushroom soup, 1 envelope Lipton soup mix and 3 c. water (since I didn't have any french onion soup). Just the right amount of gravy. My 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was wonderful! My husband loved it. Said it was as tender as a roast but tasted like steak. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth McGonagle Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Loved this gravy. Added garlic powder, onion powder, black and red pepper to one can of cream of mushroom soup, a packet of onion soup mix, about a can of water and a touch of milk. Toward the end I did add a couple tablespoons of flour mixed with a bit of water due to wanting a thicker gravy. Will be using for other cuts of meat as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great recipe. I modified and made a richer type meal. Instead of French Onion soup, used cream of onion, with 1 can fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and then served the gravy over egg noodles. It was comfort food at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States