Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe was okay. I used dry onion soup and a lot more water to make sure the potatoes were covered. When it was done I added some corn starch to thicken it back up. My boyfriend loved the recipe! I thought is just tasted like roast and I roast isn't my favorite meal. Was very flavorful, though! Meat was very tender, but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
It was EXCELLENT! My boyfriend especially loved it. And the extra sauce left over made GREAT gravy with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Extremely simple for how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very good, I used a pot roast in the crock pot with a can of mushroom soup and a can of progresso french onion, no water. Thickend it up with cornstarch at the end. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Gravy was good but too thin, so took about 1/2 cup gravy out and whisked in some cornstarch, added cornstarch mixture and rest of gravy to a saucepan to thicken. Meat was OK but little tough, could have just been the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I really enjoyed this and so easy to make. I did make a few changes. I used a can of beef broth and the dried french onion soup with water. I also thickened it up just a bit by adding some flour and milk at the end of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My husband liked this and it was easy to make. I browned it in a pan then put it in the slow cooker on high for 5-6 hours. I mixed a can of soup, one soup can of water, and one package of onion soup mix together and pured it over the round steak. It came out very tender and I did not need to do anything to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
My family loves this. I double the recipe and use 2 cans of French onion soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom. The next day, I dice up the leftover meat and add it to a bag of Reames Egg Noodles (frozen food dept.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe is awesome, soo easy and so delicious! I did make a few changes. I cut the beef into very small pieces, seasoned with pepper, onion and garlic powder. I then seared it in a pan with some diced garlic and a bit of olive oil, I also added a small can of sliced mushrooms. Then I baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I thickened the gravy with a bit of cornstarch and served with cheese mashed potatoes and corn. It was super easy on prep time and it was delicious. My husband and I had a friend helping us paint and he said we should open a restaurant!!! So, it was definitely a hit with him!!! Thanks, Nancy for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This recipe was very easy and very good. I tweaked it just a little, instead of 1 soup can of water I used 1/2 a can of strong brewed coffee and 1/2 a can of beef broth. I cooked it on high for about two hours turned it to low for about four or five hours. Just before serving, I mixed two Tbsp of coffee, two Tbsp of beef broth and Three Tbsp of flour in a small bowl, added this to the crockpot and turned pot to high for about 10 min. stirring every few min., this thickened the gravy just right. I served this with mashed potatoes and a green salad on the side. My wife said it was the best roast I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States