Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very good and easy dinner. I seasoned the steak with pepper, garlic and onion powder. Also, I used lipton onion soup mix instead of condensed but did not increase the water. The gravey was thick (like we enjoy) and tasted great but I think next time I will double. The meat was tender and flavorful. I made to sure to bake for the entire 2 and a half hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe. Instead of adding water to dilute the soup I added some red wine. Just added a little extra to a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I didn't have onion soup so used 2 cups of water + onion and mushroom dry soup mix along with a can of the cream of mushroom soup. I also used garlic, chopped onions, and green pepper when browning the meat. I covered the roaster with foil and then put the lid on to seal in juices. This was a great fall-off-the-fork meal. I served with mashed potatoes --- to take advantage of the delicious gravy. I didn't have quite as much gravy as I expected, will add more water next time. To compensate, I made gravy with the browned bits in the pan, water from my potatoes, and a little cornstarch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My Wife and I both love this recipe. I'll use 2 cans of each soup and and a large can of mushrooms for extra gravy, then pour over noddles or brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Kids & family loved it. Easy! I subbed dry onion soup mix with 1/2 can of milk for the french onion soup. I didn't even sear the meat. I don't think you can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Talk about cleaning out the pantry!! I had no onion soup of any kind and no fresh onions. So I used 1 pkg of beef gravy mix, 2 beef bouillon pkgs, 3 c water, and a generous amount of onion powder instead. It turned out great. As suggested by a previous reviewer, I coated the steaks with pepper, garlic and onion powder, and seared them in olive oil with fresh garlic. I also added carrots the last hour. I baked it the whole 2 1/2 hrs and it was very tender, but I think if I'd kept in another 20 minutes it would have been even better. Gravy was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I bought round steak because it was very cheap. My husband said I would'nt be able to do anything with it. I searched for a recipe and tried this because I had all the ingredients. My husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! At other readers suggestion, instead of the canned onion soup I added 1 packet of dry onion soup mix & 3 cups of water. I also added fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was very good and very easy. I had to reduce the cooking time as it looked like the gravy was burning on top of the meat. Still very tender and tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This was SUPER good! The meat was so tender that it kept falling apart. Even my picky 7 year old son LOVED it! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States