Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this was very good and my husband loved it - thought it was pure comfort food. Made a few changes but stayed true to the basic recipe. Had 3 to 4 lbs. of marinating steak so used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 2 pkg's onion soup mix, 2 cans undiluted beef broth and an extra half can of water, 2 cans sliced mushrooms drained, and 3 bell peppers - red/orange/yellow. When I browned the meat I sprinkled the meat with ground black pepper and garlic poweder - no salt needed because of the onion soup mix. I then removed the meat and added the broth, water and removed the brown bits from the bottom, then added the mushroom soup, onion soup mix, mushrooms, peppers - mixed well and then returned the meat to the pot. Then put it in the oven and cooked it for 1 1/2 hours - it was done by then and very tender. I used a cash iron pot which can go from stove top to oven to freezer and cooks beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OliveOil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Easy, excellent, and economical cut of beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Been making a recipe similar to this for years. I like to add sliced bell pepper, onion, and mushrooms when I prepare it. I also throw in a fair amount of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Stucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was actually very good. Next time I will definitely double the sauce mixture because we like sauce and it was great over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Mine turned out good. I would strongly suggest putting the gavy in the pan first and making like triple the amount of gravy. Good flavor, the house smelled great. I add onion soup mix also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kamas, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Great recipe!!! and so easy! Definately a keeper : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Excellent! My whole family loved it. Will make again. Easy enough for my kids to do on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very easy -- had enough gravy left over to freeze. Will definitely make again. Great for a family on a budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was good. Made it in the crockpot and it was very tender and the flavor was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States