Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Totally, yummmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Great recipe to make an inexpensive cut of meat taste great. I used a packet of onion gravy instead of the onion soup. It made the gravy nice and thick, but was a little salty. The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I added some pepper and garlic powder to the soup mix and cooked it in a covered skillet for about an hour as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very good! I have had this in my Recipe box for over a year and thought I should rate it..I, like others, just throw the ingredients in a crockpot and let it cook all day...yummy. I usually throw some mushrooms in the bottom as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MacChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The gravy came out great, but the meat was a little tough. I would definetley make the gravy again, not so on the round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was wondering how you can cook a piece of round steak. I used the crock pot suggestion and it worked out great. I have done this before with a chuck roast with the same great results. I did not use the french onion soup since I didn't have any, but will put it on my shopping list. I think that it will have a nicer, more subtle onion flavor than the dry soup mix I used. Because I used the dry soup mix, I did add 3/4 can water. I always dredge my meat in flour and brown it before putting it in the crock pot. Otherwise, I find it kind of boils the meat and it can be more rubbery than tender-juicy-fall-apart meat. I would suggest adding some garlic for those who like it, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Mmmm. Made as directed except used more meat than called for. Will probably add a little more water next time as we love our gravy!! Very tender and good way to fix an ordinarily mediocre cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used a boneless chuck steak, didn't have round. I sauteed onion and mushrooms, browned the meat, poured the onions and mushrooms over it, then mixed 1 can mushroom soup, 1 packet Lipton Onion soup mix, and 1 can of water. I also put a buillion cube in with the onions and mushrooms. I cooked it in the oven, instead of the crock pot, and I think it was alittle tough for that reason. Otherwise, it was awesome-gravy was just thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Absolutely delish! Cooked exactly as the recipe was written. Very easy. Will have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raftermaid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batesville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I also made this in the crock pot - used 2 cans of soup - cream of mushroom - added a can of mushrooms and it went over well. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States