Round Steak and Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was a tender and very favorable dish that our whole family enjoyed! Just a couple of modifications...I sautéed the onions in the pan with mushrooms prior to adding the soup mix. I was out of beef bouillon so I used 1 tbs of Worcestershire instead. It gave it a really good flavor! I also cooked the dish in a Dutch oven with the lid on for 1 1/2 hours and served the mixture over brown rice. I'd definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have picked my brain trying to figure out what I could have done wrong with this recipe and have come up with nothing. Except for using tinfoil, I prepared it as directed and it was a mushy brown mess. It LOOKED gross. The meat was NOT tender. It was very salty. With all the good reviews I must have done something wrong??? But I have reread the recipe several times and don't see what I missed. We ended up throwing it out and just ate the sides we had also prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe last night when I had no idea what to do with a top round beef roast. I followed the recipe only changing a few things. With the recommendation of other reviews, I cooked it covered with foil for the first half hour. I also sauteed onions and mushrooms and put them on top of the beef before the gravy/stuffing. My fiancee loved it! Since it's just the 2 of us, we have a LOT left over, but that's not a bad thing! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Good taste, feeds a small tribe. Would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I thought it tasted like something was missing. I think next time Ill add mushrooms, my 10 year old did not like it at all. I used herb stuffing. I would like to know where I can buy beef stuffing. I don"t believe it exists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Marr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very tender when cooked the 2 hours. Added a lb. of fresh mushrooms and more would be okay too. Used dry soup mix instead of cream of mushroom soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Love this recipe! My mother-in-law always gives up tenderized round steak and I never know what to do with it. I have made this twice now and both times we have loved it. I do recommend covering the dish while baking, the first time I did not and the stuffing was rather crunchy. Thank you Kelly for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
okay was something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Easy and a very great taste. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was a sure pure easy dish. Tastey was UNDERstatement!! I sill make this as again and agains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States