Rotisserie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My first attempt at using the rotisserie on our new gas grill. What a delicious chicken, so moist and tender! Followed suggestions of tying string around legs and wings...thank goodness! Would have been disaster otherwise! Basting sauce is delicious! Try this recipe - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Mine came out just perfect! It was very tender and juicy. Will make it again for guests anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
amazing! turned out perfect! thanks! i found 350 was best(all 3 burners on low). make sure you tie up the legs/wings. i would recommened adding some liquid in the drip pan BEFORE you start cooking as well. i used some cheap beer :) in addition to the wonderfully simple recipe..... i stuffed the cavity with lemon wedges, garlic and various herbs. i HIGHLY recommend doing this. kept the bird nice and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We recently got a new gas grill & rotisserie.This was the first recipe we tried, and it was scrumptious!! The second time, I omitted the salt & added 1/2tsp. garlic powder, 1tsp. onion poweder and 1tsp. lemon pepper. To the melted butter, I added 1/2 cup lemon juice. Wonderful!! We will use this recipe many times this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This recipe was so easy, my husband (who doesn't cook) was able to make this almost entirely by himself. He thought that salt, pepper, paprika and butter sounded too dram though, so he used lemon pepper, oregano and garlic too! This recipe is great as a blank canvas and you can add whatever flavors you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Was very good. I used two four pound chickens. I put a drip pan down and used the 2 outside burners plus the sear machine in our grill set up for our Rotisserie. I also tied the legs and wings together like other reviewers. My only complaint was it was a little dry but that was mostly our fault because we don't think we seared properly (first time using!!lol) It smells WONDERFUL cooking! Will definately try again. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDBEAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe. I used a 7lb chicken and took the advise of other reviewers and added 1 tsp of garlic powder and combined olive oil with the melted butter. I made sure I had a drip pan below the chicken and only used the outside burners. I also used wire to tie the bird securely and cooked it about 2 hours. Everything else I followed exactly as the other reviewers said. The skin came out cripy brown and the meat was so juicy it fell apart with a fork. I used a 9" cake pan for the drip pan and started out with about 1/2 of water to prevent any grease fire. During the 2 hours I basted frequently and had to add about 1 pint of water to refill the pan. This will be my recipe for rotisserie chicken for a long time. It is a make again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We just bought a rotisserie and needed to break it in before trying a whole pig on the 4th of July. This is a free standing one without a lid. Now we know we need to get or make a lid for this thing because a small chicken took FOREVER to make. Thank God we did Beer Butt chicken on the grill or our neighbors kids would have been starving. Be sure to tie your chicken's wings and legs together with string so they don't hang down. You want those to be secure. Also, to keep it moist stuff the cavity with cut up lemons. With regard to the recipe for basting sauce, it was good. I would double it and add garlic powder and some onion powder. Although, you could add just about any combination of spices that are to your liking. It really doesn't matter. What you have to have is patience and a good meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Yes, the recipe is fine but the method and instructions have a lot to be desired when cooking out of doors over fire , be it over or with charcoal or on a gas grill..., You Quickly Grill most cuts of beef over direct coals or heat. You Bar B Q most cuts of pork over low and very slow indirect heat (smoke). Brisket and tougher cuts of beef are best cooked low and slow as well. You do something called in-between with chicken and poultry called "ROASTING" Now if you are into eating carbon and having a black cloud emanate from your mouth and encircling your head from each bite, I suggest when "roasting" whole chicken or chicken pieces on the grill you employ the indirect method of cooking [roasting]. Indirect Method is having the fire banked on one or either side of the chicken or meat like Pork Steaks, Ribs, Rib racks and Tri Tip steaks etc. either on a rotisserie such as Prime Rib roast [In a basket not on skewers]or flat on the grill when using charcoal or briquettes. Important! Always have a drip pan under the chicken. This prevents flare ups and grease fires in the Bar B Q pit or Kettle. Always have a sufficient amount of liquid in the drip pan be it beer, apple juice, wine or even plain water. This adds humidity to the inside of the closed BBQ and also prevents grease fires. Concomitantly, it also will stop neighbor complaints those unexpected Code-3 visits from your local engine company of fire fighters. Rule of thumb is... “Never cook, BBQ or roa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is the best recipe for Rotisserie Chicken.Our thanks to the recipe submitter.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States