Rotisserie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I agree with another that this recipe omits important steps like cooking temp (we did 350 on our 4-burner stove). A drip pan is absolutely a must. We bought a narrow foil pan and it caught the juices that were perfect for basting. It took our 3 lb bird a little over two hours, but we probably checked on it a little more often, which reduced the temp. We should have taken a pic because it was perfectly golden brown with an internal temp of 180. I also brined it for 24 hours in a light salt/little sugar solution with a few garlic cloves, bay leaves, and sliced onion. The flavor was primo. We are definitely doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Man! This was easy and good! I followed ingredients exactly. Method I changed just a bit due to the fact I was using a times machine, not one I could set on high, med, low. I also pulled the skin up off the breasts and put some of the seasoning mix under the skin. I cooked for only an hour and 5 minutes and let my machine rotate without heat for an additional 10. It came out perfect!!! I NEVER eat the skin off a chicken and I did this time. It was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Liked it as a beginning, but way to much salt and not enough herbs. I would simply add some thyme and rosemary and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Easy and great tasting. I use my rotisserie for year around enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I found an easier way to add the spices: just sprinkle the chicken with Hy's Seasoning Salt (no MSG) If you cannot find that brand, other seasoning salts may be used. Normally, I prepare a stuffing with onions and celery (sometimes I also add mushrooms) sauteed in butter with pepper and poultry seasoning (a bit difficult to find in the U.S. but readily available in Canada). After the onion and celery (and mushrooms) are softened, I add bread cubes (any bread that is getting a bit old and stale -- whole wheat and light rye bread are favourites). I then stuff and truss the chicken before I put it on the rotisserie. I usually cook a 3lb. chicken about 90 minutes. I cook it over a pan made with aluminum foil. The resulting drippings yield enough fat to make a delicious gravy (with home-made salt-free chicken stock).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Ummm . . . no. I am a 'from scratch' kind of cook most of the time, but even I realized early on that this was a huge waste of time, money and effort. Rotisserie chicken from the supermarket is fairly inexpensive and quite juicy and delicious. From now own, that's where I'll get my rotisserie chicken and spend my time in the kitchen on recipes that I can make better than the local supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
A good recipe for starters but I made my own spice rub with brown sugar, smoked paprika, sea salt, ground peppercorn, garlic powder, onion powder, finely chopped fresh rosemary, and lemongrass paste. Apply the rub generously and put it in your rotisserie at 350 degrees for 30 mins per pound. I put a drip pan underneath with about 3/4 cup wine (or you can use apple juice). As the drippings mix in the pan it makes for a good gravy or basting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrkbrny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I would add some spice, maybe some lemon pepper. This would be to bland for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
If you watch the Video it tells you to tie up the legs & wings. Gives you how to if you don't have a rotissary & substitutes for butter if you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States