Rotisserie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Basic recipe is ok, but it omits some very important steps. You must tie the legs and wings with twine to prevent them over cooking. And the most important detail, don't cook directly over the flame. Cook with indirect heat according to the directions of your BBQ. On my 3 burner Weber, I turn off the middle burner that lies under the chicken. You can also place a pan of seasoned liquid under the chicken to catch the fat and moist season the food. I recommend wine, apple juice, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1077 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Daddy Pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a total disaster. So why did I rate it five stars? Because I take the blame for the problems I had. Although the recipe did not state it, I knew to tie up the drumsticks and wings to keep them from flapping as the rotisserie turned, thus turning to carbon. I also knew that, when basting with a butter or oil based flavoring, you will have flare-up. I thought about putting foil under the chicken, but thought previous postings that said "do not deviate from the recipe" knew something I did not. Maybe it would be crispier. When I went to put the second basting on, there was smoke streaming out from under the lid. The skin was black. A lot of the meat was overcooked. The stuff in the middle was cooked perfectly, but I sent my daughter out to the store to get a pre-cooked one. I will eat the meat I salvaged for lunch tomorrow ;-). So, tie the legs, tie the wings, put down foil, and you will probably love this. I loved the smell of the sauce. Live and learn. I hope you learn from my mistake. Updated: Another option is to turn off the burner under the chicken and cook it with indirect heat. (I have three burners.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
805 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Excellent! I had some doubts on this recipe, but this turned into the rotisserie taste that I pay premium bucks for at market. I followed the recipe exactly, basting only once. I cooked a 3 1/2 lb. chicken for two hours at 300-325 degrees. It came out absolutely PERFECT. Make NO changes. Trust this recipe. It is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Great recipe! This was my first time using my rotisserie attatchment for my BBQ grill. I was a little nervous but it turned out wonderful. Make sure you use the drip pan or you will be in for a big mess. Also, tie up the legs and wings so they don't flap all over the place. This was a great recipe to start my rotisserie carrer. I will be cooking this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe! I added some rosemerry and I used olive oil insted of butter. It was wonderful, and so juicey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This chicken turned out fantastic. We followed the ingredients list exactly and the cooking times were followed exactly. Thanks to the other reviews, made sure we tied the legs/wings with string and used an old 13x9" cake pan as a drip pan. We have always really enjoyed the grocery store rotisserie chickens, but now we will be making our own. Yum! The reviewer who added garlic powder has a great idea, as I am sure that would be tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This is the BEST!!!!!! If you're looking for a really great rotisserie chicken recipe, believe me, this is the one. By far. I've tried many others from here and other sites, and they can't touch this one. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My husband has been after me for years to find a great rotisserie chicken recipe and this is it! I did decrease the amount of salt used the second time I made this chicken and it was delicious! I will definitely be using this recipe for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We loved this one. It is so easy and so good. I did it in my Baby George Rotisserie. Quick and easy supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
The chicken looked so great that it was shame to carve it. But the taste was great it was worth while carving it. Moist, succulent, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States