Rotisserie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a total disaster. So why did I rate it five stars? Because I take the blame for the problems I had. Although the recipe did not state it, I knew to tie up the drumsticks and wings to keep them from flapping as the rotisserie turned, thus turning to carbon. I also knew that, when basting with a butter or oil based flavoring, you will have flare-up. I thought about putting foil under the chicken, but thought previous postings that said "do not deviate from the recipe" knew something I did not. Maybe it would be crispier. When I went to put the second basting on, there was smoke streaming out from under the lid. The skin was black. A lot of the meat was overcooked. The stuff in the middle was cooked perfectly, but I sent my daughter out to the store to get a pre-cooked one. I will eat the meat I salvaged for lunch tomorrow ;-). So, tie the legs, tie the wings, put down foil, and you will probably love this. I loved the smell of the sauce. Live and learn. I hope you learn from my mistake. Updated: Another option is to turn off the burner under the chicken and cook it with indirect heat. (I have three burners.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
813 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This is the BEST!!!!!! If you're looking for a really great rotisserie chicken recipe, believe me, this is the one. By far. I've tried many others from here and other sites, and they can't touch this one. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Excellent!It was so moist and tasty.My kids couldn't get enough of it. Next time I'll use a bigger chicken.Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holtsville, New York, USA
Living In: Mount Sinai, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
YUM, YUM, YUM, YUM, YUM. I DOUBLED THE RECIPE, TO MAKE CHICKEN SALAD TOMORROW, BUT IT'S TOO LATE. 3 TEENS, 2 ADULTS, NOT A DROP LEFT. THOSE BONES WERE PICKED CLEAN BY PICKY EATERS... MOIST, TENDER, PERFECT! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
One Word......yummmiiieee!!!!! I have made this twice and both times it came out better than any resturant bought chicken i have ever purchased. My only regret is, I can't make it in the winter as I live in northen Canada and it gets to cold to be outside rotisserieing chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Hilsendager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
We just got a new grill along with a rotisserie. Couldn't wait to try it out and this recipe was perfect. I even did two chickens (Doubled the recipe) at one time and they both turned out great. Very moist and flavorful! Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
My family gives the 5 stars. The kids were requesting it again before dinner was done. Chicken was perfectly moist. However, I will definately reduce the amount of salt next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I wish there was a 4.5 rating....This was pretty good. I really liked the basting mix, but I was thinking maybe to inject the chicken too next time?? Will try it out and report back to you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Fantastic job by Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENUSMOM99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
The results of this recipe were astounding. The chicken turned out tender, juicy and best of all had that golden reddish brown crispy skin that had alluded me until this recipe. I did cut the salt by 25%, but that is a personal preferance. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States