Rotisserie Chicken Chili With Hominy and Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was fantastic! I halved the recipe which fed my family of 5 with leftovers for a few lunches the next day. Followed the recipe very closely but had a couple minor changes. Used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and did 2, 15 oz cans of great northern beans. We didn't add any cheese, sour cream or other chili topping. It was wonderful by itself! Don't skip on simmering the leftover rotisserie skin and bones with the broth, it really adds to the flavor. There was a decent amount of fat in the broth from the skin and bones, so I skimmed off a decent amount of it. This has to be my favorite white chili recipe! Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was very good. The only changes I made were to omit the cayenne pepper (we don't like spicy) and to cut the recipe in half. Oh, and I used 1 can hominy pureed and 1 can cannellini beans. It seemed like it might be missing something. But, it was a nice change from red chili. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Bryan liked-makes alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I did not care for this. The food for this recipe taste better before you cook as opposed to after you cook it. It was spicy and did not taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Loved this! I used 3 cans of white beans instead of hominy and added an extra can of jalapenos. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My husband found this recipe years ago in an airline magazine. It's awesome! I wouldn't change the recipe a bit, it's perfect the way it is; a bit time consuming, but worth the time & effort. I fry up some corn tortilla strips in hot oil till crispy and use it as a condiment along with the limes and cilantro. My kids request this recipe over and over again. It freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made this with chicken thighs rather than rotisserie chicken, and halved the recipe. I used hot green chile, and adjusted the spices--using a little more than half. I also used prepared stock, and simmered it in the crock pot all day. This is not what I would necessarily call a "chili". To me, it seemed more like a New Mexico posole with chicken. The flavor was fantastic. I think I will also try this in the future with pork rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Thank you for this recipe! My husband and I had found something similar in a Back Packer magazine... but lost the mag and feared we wouldn't be able to come up with something nearly as good. Your recipe was just what we were looking for!! The only adjustment we made was to use slightly less broth so that we could serve the chili on tortillas - burrito style. Excellent! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
With some changes, this recipe is FABULOUS!!! I used 3 chickens instead of 2. I didn't bother to make my own broth and used just 6 cups of water and chicken boullion. I pureed 1 can of hominy and one can of beans for added thickenss, and when the whole beans were added, I used 1 can hominy and 1-2 cans of beans. This makes the chili much meatier and the added beans (both whole and pureed) add a lot more thickness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed the flavor and texture of this soup. It was just a bit too much corn flavor after a whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mreen Holmes
Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States