Rotini and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My kids really liked this chicken dish. And they usually don’t like casseroles that much. So I will make this again for the family. I had a lot of rotisserie chicken and I had rotini pasta so I found this recipe. I read a lot of the reviews and adjusted the recipe. I used only 12 ounces of rotini pasta. I sautéed 1 large onion with 5 garlic cloves and 5 oz of sliced fresh mushrooms. Then since my chicken was cooked, I added it at the end of sauteing for just of a minute. I only used 7 ounces of frozen peas. I used 1 whole cup of milk. Besides the 1 can of Cheddar Cheese soup, I also added 1 can of Cream of Mushroom soup. I did not add more salt or pepper. It came out just right for us! We like sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Just made this, sounded right up my boyfriends alley... Good, but DEFINITELY bland... And i have a whole boat-load of it left over, ha. I sprinkled some parmesan cheese over my bowl for a quick-fix... Next time I'll use more milk, different sprinkley cheeses, and season my chicken... I would've been disappointed if I made this giagantor dish and brought it to an event or get-together. Because of its bland-ness. Boyfriend likes it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was really good! I had a few variations of my own. I cooked the chicken, 1 green onion, 1/2 onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 c.. frozen peas, 1 c. fresh sliced mushrooms and 1 sprig of fresh rosemary in olive oil until the chicken was done. I added my own measurements to taste of salt, pepper, garlic powder, poultry seasoning and seasoned salt while cooking. I combined 2/3 of a family size can of cream of mushroom soup with 1 1/2 cups of milk. I stirred in one cup of fiesta shredded cheese and added this to the chicken mixture. I cooked 2/3 of the amount of rotini called for because of some of the previous reviews of how this recipe made a lot, but did not have enough sauce. I sprayed a 13.x9" pan with oil and poured my drained pasta in the bottom. I then poured the chicken sauce over it all, careful to make sure that all the pasta was covered in sauce. and topped with remaining cup of shredded cheese. Baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. It was Perfect! Next time I might add fresh brocolli when I cook the chicken to fully round it all out. Thanks for sharing! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Real comfort food just as is. The whole family enjoyed this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acmemom1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was great with a few changes and additions. Had heard it was a bit dry and without taste. I marinated my chicken with seasonings and italian dressing. Used 1 can of cheddar soup, 1 can cream of chicken soup, 2/3 cup milk, 1 can chicken broth. I also used one full bag of cheddar with monterey jack cheese. Topped with bread crumbs. There was plenty of sauce and plenty of taste. It made a significant amount. I would say this would easily serve 6-8 "hearty" eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This recipe is bland. I added a few things. I fried up three strips of bacon and let them cool and chopped them up, then when you saute your onions I added a few teaspoons of minced garlic. It ended up baking a little dry so I would recomend adding more milk so it turns our more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My kids absoulutely love this recipe very kid friendly just make sure you season it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
It was a little dry but not bad with a few changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSVOMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
the first time i had this dish was 20 years ago when my then boyfriend made this for me. I thought it was deliciou. I found this recipe on this site and plan on making it this weekend for my husband (not the same guy). I've read the reviews and will see how it looks before it goes into the oven as far as liquid. Also, I was very surprised to hear so many complaints about it not being seasoned enough. I would think that unless you're a complete novice in the kitchen, seasoning the chicken goes without saying. This recipe only calls for 1/2 teaspoon of salt and pepper. That's obviously not enough seasoning for all those ingredients even with the addition of the cheese. I don't usually pay attention to the salt and pepper directions since everyone's taste in that department is different. Just add more salt to the recipe and I'm sure it won't be bland anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christi
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was so easy to do (I was catering a film set, so a casserole was a must)! I used turkey instead of chicken and precooked/cut instead of raw. I also used a lot more cheese than the recipe called for...everyone loved it! I will have to make this sans the poultry and use more veggies (like corn and carrots) for myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States