Roti Bread from India Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very good. A note to NIVES123 - Roti is eaten with the meal (used to scoop up your dal, curry, etc.), it's not supposed to be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
gr8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I found I needed to change the amount of water as needed, but this is an excellent guide for rotis. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
REALLY good!! I used different kinds of flour (a mix of spelt, rice and flax flour) instead and it still turned out yummy! Good with almond butter, tuna and salad, and dipped in oils. Will be trying it with many more options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashap620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
One of my indian friends introduced me to this but called it paratas (and I'm probably butchering the spelling). I suppose the name changes depending on location. I'm new to cooking and couldn't get the water to flour ratio right... ended up with twice as much flour as I started with. Your recipe allowed for some porportional concept, so thanks! I made two more batches, one with about 1/4 cup brown sugar, light sprinkling of white sugar, and several pinches of cinnamon - turned out pretty tasty I think. I will have that with peanut butter for a snack. The other batch I put about 3 pinches of hand-crushed dried oregano (big pieces are too much for me!), a small pinch of coriander seed, about 2 pinches of ground coriander, and about 2 pinches of ground anise... oh, and some sprinkling of garlic salt... but not too much since I had already added salt. I think this will go well with dipping in some sort of tomato-y sauce and/or some dish similar. Plain old recipe surely is the best for most dishes though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
kick'n recipe! - made 1/2 and needed to add a little extra h20 - brush with ghee before slapping on a hot griddle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Love this yummy treat! I sprinkled it with a little garlic salt and basil before cooking, it tasted great! I love dipping it in hummus, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I made this with 1/2 regular and 1/2 whole wheat flour -- it came out wonderful -- very easy and fast recipe; many thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
lots of ways to make roti I guess... My grandma never used oil in the recipe and only does 1 flip. She first has the roti on the tava or frying pan at medium heat until 1 side is done while pressing the edges down into the pan with a tea towel because the edges cook last. She then turn the raw side down on a cooling rack set over another oven element that is set to high. If the first side is done properly the roti fully inflates on the wire rack set over the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Really easy & yummy. definitely will make again. The next day heated a little in damp paper towel & slathered with butter & vanilla sugar,mmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States