Roti Bread from India Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
the measurements in this is wrong. one cup of water is needed, not 3/4. this will make for a more tender roti. also no oil is needed for good roti. use any type of flour you want. don't over cook.. 30 seconds on each side is fine... otherwise when they cool, they turn really hard. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
lots of ways to make roti I guess... My grandma never used oil in the recipe and only does 1 flip. She first has the roti on the tava or frying pan at medium heat until 1 side is done while pressing the edges down into the pan with a tea towel because the edges cook last. She then turn the raw side down on a cooling rack set over another oven element that is set to high. If the first side is done properly the roti fully inflates on the wire rack set over the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
You could use butter instead of oil. It will make the rotis softer after they are cooked. Take care not to handle the dough too much.Also,brush the roti with ghee or butter, it makes it softer and it tastes really good. While rolling,it helps to lightly dust the rolling board and pin with some flour, so that it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I've been making these for years, and I don't use oil. I use whole wheat flour. After you mix all the ingredients let it rest covered for 20 min. Divide into balls sprinkle counter with flour. Take care when making balls, turn the edges under and when you roll out don't put any wrinkles in it as it will effect the final outcome in the oven. If there are no wrinkles it will puff right up, if there are wrinkles, they won't puff up. Turn pan onto med high heat and oven at 450 degrees , when the edges start to turn up, flip and do the same to other side. When second side edges have turned up take out of pan and place in oven, turn on the oven light and watch the show. It's incredible, it puffs up into a big ball of air.. 30 seconds later remove from oven and pat down to let the air escape and butter it. These are used to scoop your curry meats and basmati rice. Excellent. The nex day, I like to take a left over Roti and cold curry chicken and sauce over some rice and roll up. So Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
gr8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I can't believe how something so simple can taste so good! I used half bread flour and half white whole wheat flour. I halved the recipe because I didn't want lots of leftovers...I'll never do that again! Husband loved it with tandoori chicken and red lentil dahl. Kids had it sprinkled with cinnamon sugar for dessert. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Bravo! I used all whole wheat flour. Quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very good. A note to NIVES123 - Roti is eaten with the meal (used to scoop up your dal, curry, etc.), it's not supposed to be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PepperLime
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
When I made this bread I added a tablespoon of butter to the dough, used cracked wheat flour instead of durum wheat flour and sprinkled regular white flour on the rolling pin and counter. I also used a little vegetable oil when I was cooking the rolled-out dough. It came out flakey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I made this with 1/2 regular and 1/2 whole wheat flour -- it came out wonderful -- very easy and fast recipe; many thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States