Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is so good! I rushed it because I was starving, but it was still delicious! Next time I will let it simmer for the hour as suggested. Follow the directions well, I can tell I didn't saute the onion long enough and the spices didn't have time to blend as well as I know it could have. Next time, I will get this ready in advance so I have enough time. I would also reduce the salt to 1/2 a teaspoon, because it was way too salty. I also added two shakes of cayenne pepper. This was perfect over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Oh yes!!! I wish I'd had the homemade paneer but had to use large curd cottage cheese. Per another reviewer I used half the tomato paste and used 16 oz. of spinach. This tastes just like the export package I used to use and is absolutely delicious. Even hubby, who is not a spinach fan, loved it as did my 10 year old finicky granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was a great dish! The only things I had to change was to add more vegetabes-I think the spinach could have been doubled. This recipe is also different from the palak paneer that I usually have in the restraurants, as it has a tomato base and is not creamy. Overall, a good dish with authentic flavors. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I reluctantly tried this recipe thinking there was no way it could taste as good as at the restaurant. It turned out excellent! Thank you very much Rosy. The only change I made was to put Panela cheese because I can't find Paneer. It melted quickly, so I would recommend refridgerating it first, and then sticking it in just when serving the dish, so the cheese stays in cubes and doesn't melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was an easy recipe to follow and the result was a big hit. The flavors were rich. I added two chilis because I like hot and spicy. They didn't overwhelm the dish either. I liked this a bit better than the Palak Paneer we get at our local restaurant as it wasn't as greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REBE424
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe was delicious. I made paneer using buttermilk and milk and it really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Make sure you use homemade Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was really delicious. Due to the comments of others, I reduced the tomato by half and I found that proportion tasty. I used about 2 cups of ricotta in place of the paneer - it was very creamy but delicious. I also didn't find I needed to simmer the tomato sauce for an hour - I did just about hald an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I added more spinach, but other than that it was perfect. I love Indian food and this was very authentic tasting. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Fantastic flavors! I have never cooked with cumin seed before, and thought about just using ground cumin (because that was what was in my pantry) - I stuck with the seed the way it was written. I only needed to add about 2 cups of water while it was cooking to keep it at the right consistency. Some reviewers said they needed more like 4-5, but I did not find that to be the case for me. I did use the whole 6 oz can of tomato paste, and it tasted delicious. I used fresh ginger, but wondered what it would taste like with ground ginger, as I don't normally have fresh on hand. Anyone try that? Excellent recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States