Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was really delicious. Due to the comments of others, I reduced the tomato by half and I found that proportion tasty. I used about 2 cups of ricotta in place of the paneer - it was very creamy but delicious. I also didn't find I needed to simmer the tomato sauce for an hour - I did just about hald an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was a great dish! The only things I had to change was to add more vegetabes-I think the spinach could have been doubled. This recipe is also different from the palak paneer that I usually have in the restraurants, as it has a tomato base and is not creamy. Overall, a good dish with authentic flavors. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
"Rosy" is right... as in red and tomatoey! Palak paneer is green, right?? We've never had palak paneer that looked or tasted like this in a restaurant. It was our first time trying to make palak paneer and it is hard to imagine how this recipe can create GREEN palak paneer! With all the tomato paste and ginger called for, we ended up with a very red gingery dish that tasted good... but not really like palak paneer. Suggest really cutting the tomato, cutting the ginger, and upping the spinach! Still tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REBE424
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe was delicious. I made paneer using buttermilk and milk and it really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
The recipe calls for too much tomato. I even added another package of spinach, because most reviews say that the recipe could use more spinach, but it still didn't cut the tomato taste. Could have used a little more spices too. It's a tad different than what I've had at Indian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This gave great basic form to the palak dish. I followed other reviewers suggestions regarding ratio of tomatoes and spinach and made these changes: used canned chopped tomatoes (15 oz.), a whole box of fresh spinach, veggie broth instead of water, made the garam masala from scratch. The results were fantastic and perfect over fresh homemade naan. Give it a try to grill your naan and it tastes like fire roasted indian street food! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made the dish as directed, but found it a little bland. Something was missing but I'm not quite sure what it was... less tomato? add some cream? more spices? I doubt I'll make it again, it just wasn't as good as what I get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I completely agreed with bmotzbmotz. This was tasty but didn't taste (or look) like any Palak Paneer I've ever gotten before. I couldn't find paneer so I used ricotta. This could be a factor so I'll try to find it (or maybe to make it) and try the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was awesome. I made it as listed, except I only added 1/2 lb. paneer, as that was all I had. I was great on basmati rice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is so good! I rushed it because I was starving, but it was still delicious! Next time I will let it simmer for the hour as suggested. Follow the directions well, I can tell I didn't saute the onion long enough and the spices didn't have time to blend as well as I know it could have. Next time, I will get this ready in advance so I have enough time. I would also reduce the salt to 1/2 a teaspoon, because it was way too salty. I also added two shakes of cayenne pepper. This was perfect over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States