Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was a great dish! The only things I had to change was to add more vegetabes-I think the spinach could have been doubled. This recipe is also different from the palak paneer that I usually have in the restraurants, as it has a tomato base and is not creamy. Overall, a good dish with authentic flavors. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I reluctantly tried this recipe thinking there was no way it could taste as good as at the restaurant. It turned out excellent! Thank you very much Rosy. The only change I made was to put Panela cheese because I can't find Paneer. It melted quickly, so I would recommend refridgerating it first, and then sticking it in just when serving the dish, so the cheese stays in cubes and doesn't melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was an easy recipe to follow and the result was a big hit. The flavors were rich. I added two chilis because I like hot and spicy. They didn't overwhelm the dish either. I liked this a bit better than the Palak Paneer we get at our local restaurant as it wasn't as greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is so good! I rushed it because I was starving, but it was still delicious! Next time I will let it simmer for the hour as suggested. Follow the directions well, I can tell I didn't saute the onion long enough and the spices didn't have time to blend as well as I know it could have. Next time, I will get this ready in advance so I have enough time. I would also reduce the salt to 1/2 a teaspoon, because it was way too salty. I also added two shakes of cayenne pepper. This was perfect over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by REBE424
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe was delicious. I made paneer using buttermilk and milk and it really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
The recipe calls for too much tomato. I even added another package of spinach, because most reviews say that the recipe could use more spinach, but it still didn't cut the tomato taste. Could have used a little more spices too. It's a tad different than what I've had at Indian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This. Is. The. Best. Recipe. Ever! It was so easy and sooo good. I thought the texture of the cheese was better than at our local Indian carry out! Only one thing- maybe I was simmering the sauce at too high a temperature, but I ended up adding 4-5 extra cups of water, and it was still quite thick (which I like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
So close...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Make sure you use homemade Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was really delicious. Due to the comments of others, I reduced the tomato by half and I found that proportion tasty. I used about 2 cups of ricotta in place of the paneer - it was very creamy but delicious. I also didn't find I needed to simmer the tomato sauce for an hour - I did just about hald an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States