Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Wonderful! My first attempt at Indian cuisine and it was exactly like my favorite restaurant! I followed the recipe completely and wouldn't change a thing. Served over basmati rice with homemade naan and paneer (also from this site). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan'sGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Fantastic flavors! I have never cooked with cumin seed before, and thought about just using ground cumin (because that was what was in my pantry) - I stuck with the seed the way it was written. I only needed to add about 2 cups of water while it was cooking to keep it at the right consistency. Some reviewers said they needed more like 4-5, but I did not find that to be the case for me. I did use the whole 6 oz can of tomato paste, and it tasted delicious. I used fresh ginger, but wondered what it would taste like with ground ginger, as I don't normally have fresh on hand. Anyone try that? Excellent recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I added more spinach, but other than that it was perfect. I love Indian food and this was very authentic tasting. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Oh yes!!! I wish I'd had the homemade paneer but had to use large curd cottage cheese. Per another reviewer I used half the tomato paste and used 16 oz. of spinach. This tastes just like the export package I used to use and is absolutely delicious. Even hubby, who is not a spinach fan, loved it as did my 10 year old finicky granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I felt the end product was bland. I added regular curry powder and chili powder. I added milk and like another review 4-5 extra C of water. It is a great one to build off of. I would have had no idea where to start and this put me in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakengrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe was very good. Although, I agree it is different than palak paneer in a restaurant. I added the two dashes of cayenne pepper as recommended by someone else as well as a bit more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was really delicious. Due to the comments of others, I reduced the tomato by half and I found that proportion tasty. I used about 2 cups of ricotta in place of the paneer - it was very creamy but delicious. I also didn't find I needed to simmer the tomato sauce for an hour - I did just about hald an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Make sure you use homemade Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
So close...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This. Is. The. Best. Recipe. Ever! It was so easy and sooo good. I thought the texture of the cheese was better than at our local Indian carry out! Only one thing- maybe I was simmering the sauce at too high a temperature, but I ended up adding 4-5 extra cups of water, and it was still quite thick (which I like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States