Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Not an overwhelming list of ingredients and easy to prepare. Delicious on a cold day with a warming dahl and rice, or naan if you're a northern food lover. I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I found this needed about twice as much spinach and half as much paneer, but it was otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
"Rosy" is right... as in red and tomatoey! Palak paneer is green, right?? We've never had palak paneer that looked or tasted like this in a restaurant. It was our first time trying to make palak paneer and it is hard to imagine how this recipe can create GREEN palak paneer! With all the tomato paste and ginger called for, we ended up with a very red gingery dish that tasted good... but not really like palak paneer. Suggest really cutting the tomato, cutting the ginger, and upping the spinach! Still tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very delicious and authentic tasting. It tastes like the food that my bf's indian family serve when we go to their house. At first i thought that putting in a whole bulb of garlic was too much, but it really isn't, i guess simmering it all for one hour mellows out the taste. I minced the garlic in an electric chopper, which was a really good idea i think so you don't bite into little bits of garlic, it just melds into the sauce. Also, I followed other reviewers' tips to add only half the tomato sauce, the flavor was just right. Also before serving, i adjusted the taste, adding one tsp salt with the garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
fresh spinach would have tasted so much better. it tasted nothing like the palak paneer from the store. The store bought frozen ones probably did better justice. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsaini94```

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was deliciious. I doubled the spinach and upped the spices significantly, but I love really hot indian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was good, but there was an ingredient missing. Maybe my modifications were at fault? But I doubt it. I used margarine for ghee, about 3 tablespoons of ginger, only half of the required tomato paste, only 1/2 tsp salt (though I think 1 tsp would have been better), only about 3/4 cups water, fresh spinach, and chicken instead of paneer. With all these modifications you might blame me for thinking the recipe wasn't perfect, but really, there was something missing in the spices. It tasted great but next time I'll experiment with perhaps some curry and coconut cream. Thanks for a great base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
A great easy recipe to introduce my family to a new dish, with new flavors (for us). I used half the tomato paste, and bought real Paneer, but I totally think firm tofu could be substituted easily in a pinch. Really had to watch the water content when the sauce was simmering, and the spinach soaked up even more, so I had to keep adding water to make it nice and saucy. Wonder if veggie broth would help to not water down the spices? I didn't realize until the end that I forgot the cilantro, but it went over great without it! Served with warm garlic naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
WOW! terrific! I substituted the paneer for a can of chick peas and we really liked the flavor and heartiness of this side dish. I suppose you could just throw your diced grilled chicken in for a one dish meal. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States