Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe is perfect as is. If you're feeling especially ambitious, try to make the paneer from scratch too. The only ingredients are milk and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I agree that this has different coloring than the typical palak paneer. Also other versions I have used call for blending the ingredients in a blender once flavorshave married. No a bad flavor, just a different appearance and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used butter and ground dry cumin and ginger as well as dehydrated crushed up onion. Simmered for about 1/2 an hour. Delicious! I had never had tomato based palak paneer but it is just as good in its own way as the creamy based one. i used homemade paneer -adding it at the very end and heating it only briefly as not to melt it- might try frying it first in butter next time to help hold it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I generally like this, but will probably make several adjustments next time I make it. I do think the proportions are a bit off. Definitely could use more spinach and garam masala and less paneer (if only to cut the fat) and maybe also tomato paste. I also added some red pepper flakes for extra flavor, which I'll keep in future editions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made the dish as directed, but found it a little bland. Something was missing but I'm not quite sure what it was... less tomato? add some cream? more spices? I doubt I'll make it again, it just wasn't as good as what I get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This gave great basic form to the palak dish. I followed other reviewers suggestions regarding ratio of tomatoes and spinach and made these changes: used canned chopped tomatoes (15 oz.), a whole box of fresh spinach, veggie broth instead of water, made the garam masala from scratch. The results were fantastic and perfect over fresh homemade naan. Give it a try to grill your naan and it tastes like fire roasted indian street food! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was awesome. I made it as listed, except I only added 1/2 lb. paneer, as that was all I had. I was great on basmati rice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
delicious! we love indian food and this seemed very authentic. i didn't know how to clarify butter, so just used plain butter. less tomato, more garam masala, lots of spinach, and chicken boullion (i add this to almost everything to add more flavor). i also added cayenne and a bit of cinnamon. the cinnamon somehow balanced out the tomato flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Good with a bit of adjustments. As per other reviewers, I halved the tomato paste and double the amount of spinach in the recipe. Omitted the cilantro cus didn't have any but still tasted great. Served with saffron rice and curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought it was a great recipe. I changed a few things though. Instead of ghee, I used olive oil to be healthier. I doubled the spinach and cut the tomato paste in half. I also cut the simmering time in half. Served over rice it was delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wenham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States