Rosy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was quite good, though I had to make a few alterations. I decided to puree it and it turned out nice and smooth but a bit bland; I added quite a bit more salt, some fresh ground pepper and also some Mrs. Dash. A little extra butter adds to the creaminess. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
We found this to be a great jumping off point for potato soup (it's our first time making potato soup from scratch). We used a leek instead of an onion, and we left out some of the paprika because we have a toddler, and I wasn't sure how spicy it would be with a whole tablespoon. We did end up adding quite a lot of salt to it as the other reviewer suggested as well, and topped it with grated cheddar cheese. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe as written. I found it very bland, even with added salt and pepper. I needed to add two more tablespoons of flour before I could get it to thicken. Reviews suggest a good number of tweaks are neccessary. I would not disagree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used this recipe as a starting point to try imitating some great potato jalapeno soup I found at a pub in Traverse City, MI. Here's my altered ingredients list: 1 large onion, chopped 1 stalk celery chopped 4 tablespoons butter or margarine 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour 1 teaspoon salt (salted to taste) 3 cups milk 4 medium potatoes - peeled, cooked and cubed 1 or 2 fresh jalapeno* peppers (two was a little heavy on the jalapeno) - seeds removed and finely chopped *Be careful with the fresh jalapenos, especially if you have excema; wear gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The combination of paprika and sour cream (as many reviewers suggested) is what made this soup stand out for me. Since no chicken broth was used, I added about a tsp of chicken granules to the milk Also added hot pepper sauce and ground black pepper. As with most soups, the flavors were richer and even better when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This soup was a great way for me to use up the leftover potato pulp from the potato skins that I recently made. My main problem with this recipe is that it makes no where near 5 servings. I have 2 adult and 3 kids in my family, and luckily I had leftover lasagna that 2 kids ate, because the other 3 of us ate the soup - and not huge bowls by any means. The flavor is good, although we did all salt our bowls after tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this for a crowd and potatoes were not firm enough and not enough flavor. I would make again adding more spices or broth and leftover potatoes and easy if you have no bacon on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe! I liked the fact that there weren't too many ingredients and it didn't take very long to make. The only revisions I made, this is simply because it's what I had, I used pearl onions that I chopped in half and I use whole wheat flour. A recipe I used to use for potato soup had bacon. I think next time, I will add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This tasted very nice, but at the same time quite bland... So i added about 4 and a half tablespoons of hot sauce, half a role of Bob Evans spicey italian sausage, and a layer of paprika on top... talk about a real POW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I agree with the extra salt, I also tried the sour cream and chicken broth, that made it very tasty! A little less paprika if your not in to spicy food also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States