Rosy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was quite good, though I had to make a few alterations. I decided to puree it and it turned out nice and smooth but a bit bland; I added quite a bit more salt, some fresh ground pepper and also some Mrs. Dash. A little extra butter adds to the creaminess. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
We found this to be a great jumping off point for potato soup (it's our first time making potato soup from scratch). We used a leek instead of an onion, and we left out some of the paprika because we have a toddler, and I wasn't sure how spicy it would be with a whole tablespoon. We did end up adding quite a lot of salt to it as the other reviewer suggested as well, and topped it with grated cheddar cheese. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This wasn't too bad, however I added dijon mustard and some cheese to this recipe in addition to extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipie was ok once we added salt,chicken broth, sour cream, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I agree with the extra salt, I also tried the sour cream and chicken broth, that made it very tasty! A little less paprika if your not in to spicy food also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used this recipe as a starting point to try imitating some great potato jalapeno soup I found at a pub in Traverse City, MI. Here's my altered ingredients list: 1 large onion, chopped 1 stalk celery chopped 4 tablespoons butter or margarine 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour 1 teaspoon salt (salted to taste) 3 cups milk 4 medium potatoes - peeled, cooked and cubed 1 or 2 fresh jalapeno* peppers (two was a little heavy on the jalapeno) - seeds removed and finely chopped *Be careful with the fresh jalapenos, especially if you have excema; wear gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very delicious! I added cheese. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Excellent vegetarian option soup recipe and easily expandable with other recipes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweeny Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dodgeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe! I liked the fact that there weren't too many ingredients and it didn't take very long to make. The only revisions I made, this is simply because it's what I had, I used pearl onions that I chopped in half and I use whole wheat flour. A recipe I used to use for potato soup had bacon. I think next time, I will add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very delicious. I used too much celery though. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cLionwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States