Rosie's Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Very good. Even my young kids liked it, loved the crunch. Good enough that my 6 yr. old wanted to lick the plate and she has never done that before! Wow. With that said, though I must say that no way do you need to saute the ramen noodles, sesame seeds and nuts in 1/4 cup margarine on the stove top. That makes it waaay too fattening! You'll get the same results if you put those ingredients on a cookie sheet and under the broiler for just a couple minutes until toasted. And from what I have heard from other cooks, you should never saute in margarine anyway, but only butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This tastes really good, but I really enjoy the flavor of bok choy, and this recipe almost seems constructed to hide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lily p
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I was skeptical about this recipe due to the inclusion of ramen noodles, but I am now a believer in this crunchy and delicious food. The only change I made was replacing 1/4 of the oil in the dressing with sesame oil, just to add some more flavour. I liked how putting the hot toasted noodle/seed/nut mixture on the bok choy while it was still hot wilted the greens a little. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Awesome! As other reviewers have said, it's the dressing that rocked this recipe into my cookbook. The crunchy ramen noodles were also a great cheap ingredient for us poor college students to have around. My friend Peter (who hates vegetables) said this was the best salad he'd ever had! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gherkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prompton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was tasty and easy. I did not find Bok Choy in either of the stores that carry it during the summer, and so I used a combination of fresh romaine and napa cabbage. I found this to be a suitable substitute. Really tasty with nice crunch. I also used white vinegar which I think would go better than red vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I think white wine vinegar might have been better? Either way, not enough vinegar taste for me. Maybe cut down on the oil and leave the vinegar amount the same. Had way too much dressing, salad would have been swimming in it, if I'd used the whole amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Yummy and easy! I left out the ramen noodles since I didn't have any, but it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I really liked this salad. I added even more toasted almonds and in a time crunch you can use a bottled Japanese sesame dressing instead and it still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEILA035

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gordon, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Really yummy! My fiance loved it, especially the crunchy ramen and almonds. Next time, I think I'll add some more veggies (cucumber, red bell pepper, carrots) to make it more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Took this to a family gathering and everyone wanted the recipe! I doubled it and it was gone! I couldn't find Bok Choy at our local grocery store so I used Napa Cabbage instead. Everything else I did by the book and it was perfect! Wouldn't change a thing; fantastic dressing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States