Rosie's Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is very similar to 3 other recipes, so I combined all 3. I added carrots for crunch, used regular Bok Choy since I didn’t have baby, and also followed another suggestion and added the noodles to each portion because I anticipated leftovers. I added the flavor packet to the soy mix for flavor and poured over the cabbage early to soften it up a bit. Overall it was very good but needed something to give it some oomph, to make it memorable. Perhaps some red pepper flakes or some lemon or lime zest? Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made this by candlelight last night on our gas stove thanks to a surprise power outage in our area. It was easy to make, and both my husband and I loved it! I agree with other reviews: too much dressing. I only used about half, saving the rest for later. I also used only 1 pkg of ramen noodles. I sauteed some tofu in garlic and olive oil and tossed that in to add some protein. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Just made this for lunch and i LOVED it!! So yummy!! The dressing was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
5 Stars on Flavor, but 3 stars on preparation (in my opinion). To me, there was at least twice as much dressing as needed. Lucky for me I was using Bok Choy from the garden, so I went and picked another head. I used 2 large heads. My recommendation, in case you don't agree with me is to make this per the recipe, but start by only adding half the dressing and see what you think. For a variation, try seasoned rice vinegar instead of wine vinegar (I think its better this way). Also really good with part seasoned rice vinegar and part spicy South American pineapple vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I rated 3 stars because I knew I'd be swapping out ingredients. The ramen noodles aren't exactly nutritional superstars. I halved the fat and replaced the ramen with some kelp noodles. Next time, I'll try spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and a great way to expose your family to a new veggie: bok choy! (or reintroduce them if the first try didn't go so well...) I didn't feel that there was enough bok choy so I added 1/2 a head of red cabbage. I kept the noodles and seeds separate as suggested in another review--that worked out great for the leftovers! I also used the ramen seasoning (beef flavored) in the dressing as well to give a little more seasoning. Honey roasted almonds are also a great substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Incredible! Delicious exactly as recipe is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Love this salad although I made some changes to it because of my personal taste. I crush my ramen noodles and along with them I put the almonds and the seasoning packet and brown all together, the oriental seasoning packet really makes the crunchies even better. I use white vinegar and 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and I don't use as much sugar, I start with 1/4 cup and just taste and add until it seems right. I keep the bok choy, the dressing and the crunchies all separate and just let people make their own salads, that way it doesn't get soggy and limp. I make enough so I can have this as a side dish for 2 or 3 days. I am thinking about adding some grilled chicken to make it as a main dish, Has anyone tried it yet? Let me know how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Wonderful! I used canned rice noodles instead of ramen. Will be using the dressing recipe for other salads as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Really good! I didn't even have the ramen noodles or green onions (I added chives instead) and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States