Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I have to say with this recipe this was the closest I got to my mothers Rosettes which were the best! I did have a little trouble with the batter falling off the iorn, called my mother and immediately had an answer! Place a kitchen towel or napkins next to your hot oil pot or pan and after dipping the iorn into the hot oil, pat it flat onto the towel and then dip into the batter and sure enough no more fallen batter. I also like using my blender to blend both the sugar and cinnamon together and make it a little more softer for dusting at the end. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
when I was younger we even put jelly on these, but do this only right before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garber, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is the same exact recipe that my mother used to use. They have always been a big hit throughout the years. Instead of putting confectioners sugar on them we coat them in cinnamon and sugar, guaranteed to be a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I have been wanting to make these for some time. This recipe did it. Bought the double rosette at Sir la Table, and gave it whirl. They were perfect, delicious, and so easy to make. I ate the first six! I added TWO teaspoons of vanilla (love vanilla!) and about a teaspoon of cinnamon. Tasty! The rest was the same. I want to experiment with different flavorings. Could get really interesting! I can't believe how many are in so few ingredients!! And they're light as air. Amazing! Thanks again so such a wonderful, tasty recipe. Thank you for this recipe and all the suggestions, too. It was wonderful to make such a lovely cookie with ease the first time! I chose a pattern that looks like a snowflake for my rosettes. These will be fun in winter especially sprinkled with powdered sugar for snow. I think visiting guest might find this a fun kitchen activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Trisha*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I teach Norwegian cooking classes, so I thought I would add a few tips: flavoring: - you can substitute lemon extract for the vanilla Sugaring: - do not add sugar until you are ready to serve, they get soggier if they have sugar on them when stored. - some people prefer sugar, some powdered sugar, others sugar and cinnamon. If you use powdered sugar, use a sifter so it doesn't plop on, but goes on smoothly. - some people sugar the bottoms, other the tops. it does look a bit fancier if you flip them upside down and sugar them that way- (which is not the way it is pictured)- the sugar then catches to the edges and makes for more contrast in the color. I grew up doing it the way it is pictured here, but after you flip, you won't go back because they look so much better. If you are having trouble with rosettes, note the following: Soggy rosette? It should be fairly crisp as soon as it is slightly cool. Your fat may be too cool or you are not frying long enough. Also, make sure you aren't letting it cool on it's back. The oil needs to drain off the edges. Lots of blisters on your rosette? You over beat your eggs. Is the rosette is falling off iron while in in the oil? You aren't putting your iron deep enough into the oil. Add more oil to the fryer or place lower in fryer. But, don't hit the bottom, it will burn the rosette. Can’t get the rosette off the iron? Remove with a knife. You may have dipped it too deep in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
557 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you! The only thing I got of my Grandmother's when she pasted away was her Rosette Iron set. I tried making them once about 10 years ago and it bombed! The irons have been sitting, unused, in my kitchen ever since. I found this recipe with all the tips given so I thought I'd give it another try and it worked! I was so excited! I wasn't ready for such a long process though, I must've missed that part. Biggest tip as another user gave was to make sure you have enough oil in the pan or they won't come off. The only bad thing about these is my house stunk of hot oil for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NAGELAM
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made them exactly like the recipe states. They were delish. People at the Superbowl party had never seen them before, but loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The recipe is fine, but it makes WAY more than 30! I stupidly doubled it and had more than 100 when I gave up and dumped the remaining batter. Don't double unless you have all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I received my grandmother's rosette iron a few years ago and have made these many times since. They are alot of work, but like most old fashioned recipes they are well worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe,Pat. I used to make these all the time at the holidays, but lost my recipe. I followed the recipe for half the rosettes, and then I added more sugar and some cinnamon to the batter, and they were delish too. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States