Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I try to make every year. Friends and family ask for them every year. I'm getting old and forgetful. Thank you for helping me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have made these for years and instead if vanilla, I use almond extract and after sprinkling with powdered sugar, I add a spoon of strawberry preserves to the center of each cookie and they are gone faster than I can get them finished. They are phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe is fantastic and better that the one from my mom and her mom (don't tell her!). The key with rosettes is the technical part and this batter worked great! 1. Be very patient heating the oil and know that once you're at 350-400, it doesn't take much to keep in there. Monitor temp continuously (since it takes time to get thermometer up that hight) and make small changes. 2. Do heat the iron for 2 minutes. 3. Dip in batter for almost 10 seconds. 4. Watch the color of the oil bubbles coming up. As soon as it changes from white to off-white, you're just about done. I made this recipe with my son as part of his 5th grade heritage project recalling that my mom made scores and scores of these along with other cookies... what an amazing woman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I tried the recipe and it was good, the rosettes fall off the iron on their own and I'm able to cook 4-5 at a time in a large skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've been looking for a good rosette recipe for a long time and hints on how to make them. Another website suggested putting the batter in the fridge for 2 hours prior to cooking to let the batter set. Worked really well. I used to have lots of trouble with the batter sticking to the irons and that wasn't a problem at all. I look forward to making these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used to remember my mother making these so I dug thru my drawers and found her old rosette set. This recipe is great but for people wanting a thicker cookie, this lady at church told me she uses cake flower. I tried it with cake flour and they come out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
One of the best rosette recipes I have tried. These come out perfect every time. I always place my rosette iron in the oil before heating and let it get hot with the oil. Works great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Thank you for this recipe, I just made them yesterday, they taste delicious, my family loved them. I dipped them while still hot on regular white sugar and cinnamon. They are still fresh and crisp a day after, inside a cellophane bag, and they don't seem like they are going to get soggy any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Been making these for 40 years, this is the best recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love these cookies!!! Thank goodness I found this recipe. Im swedish and we have these cookies every christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allora45
Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States