Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Once you have all the equipment and experience, these are "a piece of cake," but getting there is part of the fun of it all. My daughter-in-law's mother and I have it down pat now! They are so beautiful and lend themselves to the talk of the party! Be sure to read all the reviews here to get the tips that make it great fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made these for our Church bake sale and they were gone in a flash. I used to make these for Christmas cookie plates for the family a few years ago and they were sad when I said I didn't have the time to do it anymore. I will be making these again this year and maybe next year. I did make these with almond extract instead and they were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daysee
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
a wonderful family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Easy and inexpensive to make.. deliciously light.. Made them for work and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a great, simple recipe that took me back to my childhood. I find you can minimize bubbling if you shake the excess batter off the iron before placing in the oil. I use 365 degree peanut oil and cook between 18 & 25 seconds each, depending on the size/shape of the iron I'm using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I have to say with this recipe this was the closest I got to my mothers Rosettes which were the best! I did have a little trouble with the batter falling off the iorn, called my mother and immediately had an answer! Place a kitchen towel or napkins next to your hot oil pot or pan and after dipping the iorn into the hot oil, pat it flat onto the towel and then dip into the batter and sure enough no more fallen batter. I also like using my blender to blend both the sugar and cinnamon together and make it a little more softer for dusting at the end. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
when I was younger we even put jelly on these, but do this only right before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garber, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is the same exact recipe that my mother used to use. They have always been a big hit throughout the years. Instead of putting confectioners sugar on them we coat them in cinnamon and sugar, guaranteed to be a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I have been wanting to make these for some time. This recipe did it. Bought the double rosette at Sir la Table, and gave it whirl. They were perfect, delicious, and so easy to make. I ate the first six! I added TWO teaspoons of vanilla (love vanilla!) and about a teaspoon of cinnamon. Tasty! The rest was the same. I want to experiment with different flavorings. Could get really interesting! I can't believe how many are in so few ingredients!! And they're light as air. Amazing! Thanks again so such a wonderful, tasty recipe. Thank you for this recipe and all the suggestions, too. It was wonderful to make such a lovely cookie with ease the first time! I chose a pattern that looks like a snowflake for my rosettes. These will be fun in winter especially sprinkled with powdered sugar for snow. I think visiting guest might find this a fun kitchen activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Trisha*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States