Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Been making these for 40 years, this is the best recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love these cookies!!! Thank goodness I found this recipe. Im swedish and we have these cookies every christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allora45
Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Nice flavor but the batter was on the thin side compared to other recipes I have tried. Cookie was crisp but too thin and crumbly. Looking for a heartier, yet crisp cookie......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I have the same recipe from my mom. Just loved making them with her every Christmas when I was a little girl. We always heated the oil in an electric skillet, super easy to keep the temp of the oil just right. Turn the temp high to get it to temp then down to med low to keep it constant. I haven't made them in years but I'm fired up to bring the tradition back this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
The temperature of the oil is the key to success. it varies as you cook so watch it close. The kids, and husband, eats them as fast as I can make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My batter kept falling off the iron into the bowl of batter. I read a few reviews and realized my batter was too thick so I added a little liquid and BOOM problem solved. My kids loved them! Oh, and I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Next time I'll try anise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Topping alternative: Turn the rosettes on their underside, drizzle HONEY on them (warm it up in the microwave for 15 seconds, easier to drizzle), add finely diced WALNUTS (you can buy these diced for you) and sprinkle with a little bit of CINNAMON! I make mine slightly different. I don't use sugar, and I don't use the salt under the ingredients (but I will try in the future). Also, the 2 eggs should be lightly beaten. To cook, I use Crisco Vegetable Shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The flavor of these rosettes is just what I remember growing up... Here are some of my notes, based on my experience making this particular recipe: 1. 375 degrees is WAY too hot!!! The rosettes are burned before you can get them off the iron. We found that 350 is about right. 2. Dip the iron in the batter and hold there for about 4 seconds, then let batter drip off slightly, then put iron into oil. 3. Hold iron under the oil for about 12 seconds; that way, dough will come off the iron easier. 4. Do sift flour; this will keep the batter smooth. However, you will need to add more flour to keep the batter from being too thin. (The recipe as written is much too thin – not enough sticks to the iron, and what does stick fries up too quickly.) 5. Be sure to stir batter every so often to keep it from getting too thick at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
If done correctly, these are the best cookies you'll ever eat but man, are they a lot of work! I use an electric skillet because your oil has to be the right temp. 350 is perfect, 375 is too hot. Be sure to heat the iron (I use a double so I can do two at once) with the oil. When you dip it into the batter, it should sizzle. Your first rosette will NOT turn out. Simply redip and the old batter should come off with the new rosette. As soon as you put the iron in the oil, shake lightly up and down, and the rosette should come right off. The put the iron back in the oil to keep it hot, it should sizzle when you dip it in the batter. Finally, if your cookies come out too greasy, put them in the oven for just a minute or two and that will help. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My family has made this cookie since I was a little girl. We do one thing different in regards to the topping. Chocolate. Drizzled with a little bit of melted chocolate (white, milk, or dark) and you'll have a hard time eating just one or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States