Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just the right amount of sweetness. Another suggestion of you like them a little crispier...chill the batter in fridge for a couple hours. My next door neighbor has been making these every Christmas for 59 years and that was her advice to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was my cookie exchange choice this year. I had fun making them. I appreciate all the comments - they helped with the process. I dusted mine with powdered sugar & packed them up. I'm hopeful that they don't get soggy ( as one comment said). I used an electric frypan to cook them. I'll experiment with flavors next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Using evaporated milk is my version. 1/2 cup and 1/2 water (selzter water for lighter rosettes) 1/2 tsp. sugar 1/2 tsp. vanilla 1 egg 1 cup flour Use a whisk to whip all ingredients together. Only use lard to fry in. When rosettes are cooled, used various jellies, apricot, strawberry, blueberry, etc. and put a bit in center of rosette, than sift powdered sugar over rosette. To store, put in container but do not cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe is perfect as it is. It's just as I remembered when I made them with my children. I made them with almond extract instead as I was out of vanilla and they are great. As mentioned in an earlier review, they are even more attractive when dipped in powdered sugar from the opposite side as pictured. I just did this for the first time, and it really enhances the lacey look much better. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
As a long time rosette maker, when the kids were little, I would give them small paintbrushes and make thin poiwdered sugar frosting in different colors, and let them paint the edges of the rosettes, [when you turn them upside down]. Sometimes they would just use thin white frosting, and while still wet, dip them in colored sprinkles. Very pretty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Exceptionally tasty and easy. I have never had luck with rosettes until now. It was a special snack for after school. I did use a thermometer to gauge oil temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wish we had more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These are very easy and fairly fast to make. I suggest holding the powdered sugar until just before you serve them because it can make them kinda soggy in the end. Good taste, reminds me of funnel cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Just like grandmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The cookie was great but I did have problems getting my cookie off my iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States