Rosemary Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I loved the marinade. I added some minced fresh garlic, olive oil, and worcestershire sauce. I just eyeballed everything and put everything into a ziploc bag. I didn't prepare the steaks in a skillet, I put them on the grill. The smokiness from the fresh rosemary is a nice accompaniment to the steaks. These go great with baked potatoes on the grill and a fresh garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I was skeptical about this recipe and took some of the others advice. After removing the steaks I added garlic and minced onion to the pan, sauteed for a few minutes then added the wine mixture. I reduced the wine mixture to about 1/3 cup then removed from the heat and added 2 teaspoons butter. My company all enjoyed it and really liked the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Nice, I removed the steaks before doing the reduction and added a little garlic and butter which thickens the sauce and adds a bit of flavour. The end result is going to depend on the quality of the wine, another substitution would be to use balsamic vinegar to deglaze instead of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Very delicious. Simple to prepare and tastes great. I used dried herbs...didn't have the fresh ones on hand. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This recipe is simple & delicious. The only change I made was to add garlic since I'm Italian & I add garlic to everything. This would be a perfect recipe to make for guests because I think it would suit everyone's tastebuds as its not too overpowering. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I LOVE this sauce. I was skeptical about the red wine and rosemary combination, but the flavors blend beautifully. I did add a little butter and allowed the sauce to reduce a bit while the steaks rested. The steaks were a bit dry, and I found the 16 minutes of cooking time to be far too much. Next time I'll change my cooking method a bit, but the red wine-rosemary sauce is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
We really liked this recipe. I put the steaks in the wine to marinate for about 30 minutes- after the rosemary had soaked in it for 2 hours. Left steaks in boiling wine mixture for 1 minute, then removed them- left rosemary in until I followed one other suggestion of thickening sauce with a little flour. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCWIGGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great result for the ease of it! Just used dried rosemary, and added a drop of Worcestershire and garlic. The kids, who are accustomed to pretty plain and traditional steak, tore this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Very good. Though since I didn't have any fresh rosemary, I tried it with fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This sauce was really good and went great with baled lamb chops. I used the balsamic vinegar, garlic, and butter like the previous post user suggested and it was awesome.I also added a touch of sugar to make my sauce a little sweeter. I like my sauces a little thicker personally so I added a touch of flour at the end to thicken- it was delicious and interesting. Very different and I used this with baked lamb chops. We all loved it!! Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States