Rosemary Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was an easy, delicious side that went perfectly with the beef bourguignon that I made as a main. Took the advice of reviewers, and instead of using the baking bag, I coated the potatoes with the oil and dry ingredients using a ziplock bag, put the potatoes on a baking sheet, covered it tightly in foil, and let it bake until the potatoes were tender. Worked perfectly. The only other thing I ran into was that the recipe was a little dry for my liking, so I added more sour cream and butter until it was to the consistency I liked. If I recall correctly, I had to add quite a bit more, but I like to have them rather creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca LaMore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Brought this to a bbq and it was a big hit! Because of dietary restrictions I made it dairy and gluten free and it still tasted great. I didn't have an oven bag either. I substituted Bob's Red Mill gf flour for regular flour, earth balance spread for the butter, and Tofutti sour cream substitute for the sour cream. I'm making it again right now and will chill it in the refrigerator to bring to another bbq as a potato salad. Fresh rosemary really made the potatoes pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This reminded me of the stuffing in a twice-baked potato, except more savory due to the addition of rosemary. It got rave reviews from my guests. This was the perfect accompaniment to the grilled tri-tip roast and tossed green salad I served. It seemed a bit on the dry side when I culminated all of the ingredients. With the addition of some half and half it was perfect. I realize this recipe is sponsored. However I agree with another reviewer that you don't need to use the oven bag to achieve the same results. You can wrap the potatoes in foil or place in an ovenproof dish. This was very good. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was good. Not a fav but it WAS good. Didn't have the bags so I put the dry ingredients in a ziplock bag, then added the olive oil and reds and mixed until coated well. Poured entire mix into a greased 9x13 baking dish, covered tightly with foil, and baked for apprx 40 min. Went nice with our baked fish. Plan to keep as a base to play with in future attempts. Thanks Reynolds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was really good. The only problem I had was that I cut my potatoes into 4ths, they still took 50 minutes to cook. Next time I will cut the potatoes smaller and increase the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was great! I followed the recipe except I don't have oven bags so I used a cookie sheet and foil. I really liked the seasoned potatoes before I smashed them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadactyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
sooo good. used fresh rosemary and a glass pyrex covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this last night as a side dish for brisket and everyone love it! I mixed the potatoes and all the ingredients in a plastic bag then put in a roasting pan with foil fitted tightly over it. I did add a little bit more olive oil over the potatoes. I mashed the potatoes after they were cooked and mixed in the onions but instead of adding the butter and sour cream I put them on the table to add if you wanted, but I did'nt think it was necessary. Leaving out the butter and sour cream also made for a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahcr
Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Easy and delicious! Really nice spicing. For the record, you don't need an oven bag -- I made mine in a casserole dish with a tight lid and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hapax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiffany's Tips for Grilled Salmon

Get tips for making moist, Asian-infused salmon on the grill.

Emily’s Tips for Saving Time in the Kitchen

See a few simple solutions for saving time in the kitchen.

Utokia’s Tip for Quick Rolled Snacks

See smart tricks for taking simple snacks on-the-go.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States