Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I wasn't sure what I expected these to taste like but they were awesome. I put them on my cookie trays for Christmas and they were very well received. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly with the one exception of rolling the dough into a log before I chilled it, per other reviews. Then when it came time to bake, it was very easy to just slice. I found it easier to use my hands to blend the flour, salt, rosemary mixture into the sugar, egg mixture. The sugar on top helps add the right amount of sweet. Even though these are perfect as is, next time I will add lemon zest as some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kilikena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was torn between this recipe and another recipe for rosemary cookies on this site. I decreased the servings down to 12 for each recipe, made mini batches of both in the toaster oven, and put the recipes to the test with my family. This recipe took all the votes! I noticed it lives up to its name- this is very much a shortbread recipe while the other was more of a cookie texture. This recipe is also much "fluffier" and has a smooth taste. I will experiment next time with making the dough just a little sweeter so I don't have to top them with sugar as a separate step. Thanks Abigail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Amazing flavor. Love, love, love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Totally delicious and savory! Can't say enough good things about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Love love this recipe....very yummy. I'm thinking of making with lavendar instead of rosemary one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
this was an awesome recipe, and a great way to use up some of the rosemary i have all over my house :) the dough was very sticky, so i did refrigerate it before i baked it. that firmed it up nicely. i'd totally recommend refrigerating it into a log of some kind, be it round or rectangular, so that when it firms up, its easier to slice and you have consistent shapes. but definitely yummy in my tummy! UPDATE: i was really short on time today, so i didnt have time to refrig it, and was making a double batch. what i did instead: put it in my cookie press, didn't put the 'press' part in, double clicked and sliced. that got me perfect circles! and the rest? put it in the entire press, clicked it all out, and formed perfect logs i then froze. next time will be easy to slice and bake! hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very good! I thought this was a good standard recipe for shortbread and allows for lots of variation with different flavors. I actually used this as a base and did half with rosemary, half with lavendar/mint (instead of using that recipes amounts). I think almond shortbread is still my favorite flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very tasty, easy to make, and people love them! Impressive cookie, great for bringing to a party. Leftover dough freezes well for future baking. Can't wait to try other users suggestions of using loose leaf tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckinstein Shinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starrynite
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I was a little concern about herb cookies since I had never tried before, but these turned out great! I brought them for teacher appreciation week luncheon few weeks ago, and it was a hit:) Few teachers even asked for recipe. The only change I made was shaped the dough to a long log and refrigerated for more than 2 hours to make it easy to cut without getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States