Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The reviews are right, this recipe is easy and the result is delicate cookies. Use the BEST (85% btr fat) butter you can find since it's a big part of this recipe and you want lots of crisp. I simply mixed everything in the stand mixer with the whisk then the paddle for the flour addition. Easy peezy rolling, put not hardened all the way dough between two sheets of parchment then roll to your thickness,put on a cookie sheet then back to the fridge until you feel like cutting them. I use Maldon sea salt flakes, more delicate salt than kosher(you'll increase the salt by a pinch) and instead of sugar on top of the cookies I sprinkled with a small touch of the salt flakes.I let my dough chill overnight since I wasn't in a hurry and just experimenting. It took coaxing to get my family to try these( no chocolate chips ya know) but they just loved them. Definitely a great addition to any savory snack platter you'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Gearhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
It is a tradition in my house, for me to make rosemary cookies every season!!! Even my Aunt that does not like rosemary loves these!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Not sure what I did wrong but they just fall apart. Basically wasted all those ingredients. Not happy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I loved it! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made these cookies for my daughter's wedding dessert bar and everyone loved them! I have made them several times since then and they always turn out well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit at a yearly get together this year! It will become a part of the tradition. So yummy and easy. We ate them with a bottle of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've made this twice now, and it's a favorite! I made it once with some lemon glaze on top, and once plain just as the recipe describes. Both are delicious - without the glaze they are perfect with tea or coffee because of the texture. I LOVE these cookies! :) They always impress because they are so unusual for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made these for a meeting. Only adults where there. Everyone loved them. A great cookie for adults. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I rolled them out and used a leaf cookie cutter. Perfect for the cool fall nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina McMahon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe as it is posted, with the exception of the rosemary (I excluded that ingredient). Oh, I also add a small amount of Almond Extract :) I found the batter/dough easy to work with whether you are using a cookie cutter or just taking a scoop and flattening them out. This is a great recipe, it easy to make, and you'll get great results. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These are delicious and very popular. I followed the recipe exactly, but like many, opted to roll the dough into logs and wrap them in saran wrap before chilling. Then I sliced them to about 1/4 inch thickness and left off the decorative sugar because I like the texture of shortbread on its own. They were ready in 11 minutes in my oven. You should take them out when they're golden brown on the bottom and white but dry on top. The texture of these cookies is awesome; they're slightly soft as opposed to crunchy, which is exactly what I was looking for. I've tried them with lavender and lemon also, but I prefer the rosemary personally. To anyone having trouble mixing the dough, just keep at it, and don't be afraid to mush it up with your hands if the spoon isn't doing the trick. Eventually it will reach a good soft dough consistency. You should also start with butter that's softened to room temperature. I tried to rush it with cool butter once and it was very hard to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States