Rosemary Sherry Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
The first words out of my husband's mouth when he took a bite were "Mmmmm! Wow!" I think that the earlier reviewers who found this recipe "bland" must have done something wrong because the chops were SO FULL OF FLAVOR!! I accidentally added a whole 1 cup of chicken broth, but I would recommend that everyone make this "mistake"--it made enough creamy sauce to serve on the side! Some other changes: I substituted marsala cooking wine for the sherry, added some dried crushed rosemary to the flour mixture, used dried minced onions instead of onion powder, and ommited the fresh onions (since I didn't have any)--the recipe still turned out wonderfully! I will DEFINITELY make this again. Thank you Stacey!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
It was ok, but I thought it was bland, no spice to it! My husband is on Weight Watchers, so I reduced the oil to 3 tbs., but I think that's still too much. My husband said to not make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Husband and I loved this dish. I added crushed, dried rosemary, dill, and taragon to the flour mixture and it added wonderful flavor. As suggested by others, I added extra stock and sherry and made a delicious gravey. Served the pork with roast garlic mashed potatoes and a salad. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Wonderful dish!! Thanks, the only thing I would do next time is add more rosemary! The chops where very moist and the coating was awesome. I am not a big pork chop lover, but these changed my mind. Thanks again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
You're right, Stacey, incredibly good! I used dried rosemary, and doubled the sauce. I also removed the chops once they reached 160 degrees, boiled the sauce down some and then finished it with about 3 T. butter. Mmmmmm-mmmm! (The chops didn't take 25 min. to cook, more like 15 total.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This came out great. I did make alot of changes to the recipe cause I didn't have some of the ingredients and add extras as some other reviewers suggested. I made it with whole wheat flour since I didn't have white flour. Also added about 1 cup more of the chicken broth only cause I wanted the chops more juicy and wanted to make extra gravy with the left over juices. I also used minced onion since I didn't have onion powder and added dried rosemary to the flour. Added 1t. of tarragon to flour. Also used about an extra T. of dry sherry and an extra T. of fresh rosemary to add to the chops. Served this chops with mashed potatoes and green beans using the extra juices of the chops to make a gravy. Tip always try to eat chops hot cause if you let them get cold they start to get dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These were very good and flavorful, a nice alternative to the standard porkchop-in-cream-of-mushroom-soup thing. Because others complained of this being bland, I made my chicken broth by boiling 1/2 cup water and then adding a whole chicken bouillan cube to it (since one cube is supposed to make one cup of broth--this way the broth was twice as flavorful). I then omitted the salt in the recipe. I also only used about half the oil (I just pour in enough to cover the bottom of my skillet, and 4 Tbsp was just way too much). Everyone enjoyed these, and I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Try reducing the oil to 2 tablespoons, adding a bit more if needed. Try tarragon instead of rosemary. Also, depending on your pork, simmer 1/2 to 1 hr. for really tender chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very good! I used a poultry seasoning instead of the rosemary, used red wine instead of sherry and thickened the sauce with cornstarch as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I halved this recipe for the two of us, but I did not halve the broth ,sherry and rosemary. I'm glaad I didn't too because there would have been no sauce at all. This was a tasty, easy, quick way to do pork chops and chardonnay can also be used instead of the sherry for a slightly different but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States