Rosemary Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I put the spices and the olive oil together the night before and let the oil soak up all the flavor. All I did on Thanksgiving Day was rub it all over the turkey - inside and out - and place the turkey in a "turkey" baking bag for 3 hours. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANALUKEMORGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I have made this turkey 4 years in a row. My husband and I only made a few changes. First, we cover for 2 hours then cook uncovered the last 2. We also double the ingredients and place under the skin, on top and in the cavity. This adds a nice rosemary flavor to the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I love this recipe, i have used it for a few years now and still love it. To keep it extra moist and half the cooking time i place the already seasoned turkey in an oven roasting bag and seal it with the twist tie thingy. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Welcome to my new turkey recipe! This is it, I think, for the rest of my life. It's so fresh, and makes GREAT gravy. One added thing I always do....use carrots and leeks instead of a rack for the turkey - then, when you go to make the gravy, make sure you push the carrots and leeks through a sieve to add all that goodness into the pot. It's really the best possible gravy you could ever have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe was great. I had never roasted a turkey in my life and everyone raved about it on Christmas Eve. The photograph is mine - so you can see it turned out great. Moist too - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maun, North-West, Botswana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
We bought a fresh turkey and used this rub - only I used 1 tablespoon of dried rosemary and 1 tablespoon of dried basil and cut the garlic to 2 Tablespoons. we also stuffed the turkey with sausage and sage stuffing. It was the best turkey we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
OMG!!! Not my first turkey but absolutely my best, most flavorful, moist turkey ever. Reading the reviews first were great. 1) buy a small bottle of olive oil take off the spout and add springs of fresh herbs. I used rosemary, thyme, sage leaves and one clove of garlic sliced. Return spout to bottle and refrigerate a few days prior to making turkey. Note: use whatever herbs you like. 2) took the advice to use carrots and leeks to roast the turkey on. Great tasting will try in gravy but didn't this time. 3) Roasted breast side down first for an hour, then turned turkey breast side up to complete last two hours. 4) Use a foil tent over turkey. 5) stuff cavity with more fresh herbs, an onion wedge, a sliced clove of garlic and rind of a juiced lemon, and splash in some of your flavored oil. WOW! The compliments kept coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaffair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This looks great. Can't wait to try it. I have one question though. In the past I've used rosemary in pork and lamb by inserting it into little holes made with a knife. I wonder if this insertion method would work with turkey. I've never heard mention of it. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe. I'm a fan of brining the turkey first, but if you do that, eliminate the salt from the recipe. I also butterflied the turkey, so I could bake it at 425 for only one hour. It was so moist and flavorful. My family raved about it and asked if we had leftovers for tomorrow! Thanks for my new Thanksgiving turkey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
IN MY BEST "COMIC BOOK GUY VOICE FROM THE SIMPSONS" BEST TURKEY EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States