Rosemary Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was the best turkey i had ever made. I added fresh italian seasoning that it asked for instead of dried, such as marjoram, thyme, oregano, etc. I did not add sage since it overpowers foods and so does the rosemary so you have to choose one. When i cooked the turkey i cooked it breast side down..that is the best secret to having a moist delicous turkey..also cover with foil, if you are not stuffing the turkey throw some rosemary sprigs inside the cavity with whatever vegetables you may choose as well. The last 45 min. to an hour take the foil off and turn the turkey breast side up so it can brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This rub recipe is wonderful, and it made excellent gravy. In preperation I used a brine that I think matched well with the rub. Soak the turkey overnight in the following: Fresh rosemary, basil, peppercorns, juice of 2 lemons and 2 oranges; and for each gallon of water needed to cover the bird, add 1 cup kosher salt and 1 cup brown sugar. Rinse before rubbing. Even microwaved leftovers were moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
The family really enjoyed this recipe - even the picky eaters claimed this was the best turkey they had ever tried. Count me in on the side of the briners - the previous reviewers suggest brining the turkey the night before; this really helped keep the turkey moist. Brine Recipe: 1 cup lemon juice 1 cup orange juice For each gallon of water needed to cover the bird, add 1 cup kosher salt and 1 cup brown sugar. A couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary and fresh basil 1 cup of peppercorns Just be sure to keep the turkey cool while the brine is working away to lock in the flavor. I double bagged the turkey and placed it in a large cooler surrounded with ice. Give the skin a chance to become crispy by taking the turkey out of the brine 2 hours before cooking, patting the turkey dry and allowing it to sit in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I'm embarrassed to admit this, but last night was the first time I ever cooked a turkey. I used softened butter instead of olive oil, and mixed the butter with sage, rosemary, and thyme. I loosened the skin from the breast and smeared the savory butter all over the breast meat under the skin. This made for the most delicious and moist turkey we have ever eaten in our lives. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROYSAPER
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
It was definitely a weird experience putting the spices between the skin and body of the turkey but it worked really easily because I used long yellow plastic gloves. Yes, I was a sight to behold with apron and long yellow gloves but it got the job done! I mixed the fresh spices in a salad dressing jar the night before and shook it well to allow the flavors to work into the oil. That also saved prep time on roasting day and allowed the flavored oil to be easily poured where it was to go. I started the roast breast side down and tented it with aluminum foil after it browned nicely. After 2 hours I turned it breast side up and tented it after it browned. Earlier I pulled the wings away from the body to ensure the area under them browned as well. I used the oven probe the last hour or two (of slightly more than 4 hours for the 15 pounder) and it was perfect color and moistness at 180 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I substituted the water with white wine. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
There's nothing a dead turkey likes better than a nice warm bath and a good oil massage. I added more spices to my mixture and found it surprisingly easy to spread the butter under the skin. I was so afraid I was going to break it, but it worked out fine. I had a lot of the mixture left, so I used it inside the cavity and on top of the skin also. I roasted on 500 for about thirty minutes and then flipped the bird and reduced the heat for the rest of the cooking time. The meat was juicey and delicately infused with all the wonderful herbs and seasonings. Very good Star! Bro came thru with flying colors!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
I thought this was average at best. I made this w/a whole chicken. I think the water is what ruined it. The skin on the chicken remained soft. Not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
I used this recipe for chicken for a family get-together. It was a hit! I am going to use this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States