Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I suggest watching the video. I'm surprised there aren't more reviews on this one. :) My slight changes were: I added the honey to the yeast/water mix, and added the salt in lastly while adding in flour to make a soft dough. Also used salted butter, didn't seem to make a diff. Only thing is, if you get 3 dozen rolls their going to be pretty small. I got 18 and they weren't that big. 1.5 oz or so each. Seemed I needed to add in more flour at the end then called for but I did use bread flour instead of A/P. However, the end result turned out fantastic. I used my 10" round Superstone (for deep dish pizza) to bake them and 15 rolls fit perfectly. Nice fluffy rolls. I will stress DO NOT sub dry for fresh Rosemary. You will probably leave a bad review if you do that but it will be your fault (just saying). Thanks CJ. My go to roll recipe here on out. :) Man, so simple yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I searched and searched for a dinner roll recipe that was easy and sounded good to make for Thanksgiving. I went with this recipe because it came with a video, which I suggest watching if you've never made homemade rolls before. I made a test batch today to taste them and this recipe is a keeper. They are very good and the rosemary added a great flavor that wasn't over powering. This is my first time ever at making homemade bread and I am no Betty Crocker in the kitchen. These rolls were easy to make. I followed the directions completely. It seemed I did use a little more flour then called for. I just added very small amounts until the dough balled up and pulled away from the sides of the bowl like in the video. Be sure to have a thermometer on hand so you can get the proper water temperature so not to kill the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Super easy to make and absolutely delicious! I made half the batch as per CJ, putting them close together on a baking sheet to "pull apart" and the other half in muffin tins. Both were equally good and presentation wise, both pretty. This is going to be my go to recipe for dinner rolls and substitute herbs to along with my menus. Also, I made the lemon herb butter on this site and the two were great compliments to one another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made these using 23 grams as the size of my rolls, and that produced 30 luscious rolls! Thanks so much for another great recipe, Chef John! The people at my dinner party thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I prepared these rolls on short notice and despite not giving them the proper time to rise, they still turned out wonderful. My wife wasn't a huge fan of the rosemary, but I thought the light hint of it added to the flavor in a great way. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I had a little problem with the yeast and my mixer so i told myself i wasn't going to be making this again any time soon. But when i started baking, the aroma alone was so rewarding! And 'as always' with all Chef John's recipes i have tried, it turned out perfect! My husband says thank you, Chef John. Now i am sure i am going to be making this every weekend. Of course, i didn't even attempt to make any changes to a 'Chef John's recipe'. I only used my favourite herb instead of rosemary. I only know its local name here (i am in Ghana, West Africa) so i might just post a picture of it later to see if anybody can help me with the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Let me first start out by saying that Chef John is the bomb! I discovered him when I tried his meatless meatballs and anyone who can conquer something like that was worth following. In the past I have not had good luck with dinner rolls, they were either too heavy, didn't rise, or didn't have good flavor. These rolls were beyond amazing. I couldn't believe the flavor that came from these. I didn't have fresh rosemary so I instead used 1tsp of dried rosemary and doubled the honey. I thought it was going to be a flop because I needed much more flour to get the dough to pull away from the bowl, but I was patient and it worked. I strongly suggest following the video instead of the instructions. They are slightly different, and the video will keep you on point (as well as make you laugh)! These were easy, and worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Omg I made them tonight my first time making rolls at home a hit thank u chef ....... I needed a lil more flour but other then that so awesome try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe, and it turned out great. I had to put a little more flour than what the recipe called for, but otherwise everything was as simple as chef John showed us. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I've been following Chef John on Youtube for years, everything I've made has turned out pretty awesome. This recipe is no exception. Yum Yum. One thing I will say is I only got 24 small rolls, any smaller might have been a little ridiculous. I made the rolls to act as burger buns and my burger became tiny sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States