Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this recipe while entertaining family members. They said it was good, but I wasn't overly excited. All of the flavors were there, they were just lacking a little bit. Next time I'll use more sweet potato and less potato, more salt and fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zumikon, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
the recipe was excellent...the seasoning was a little bit dull so i added extra rosemary, and then thyme and sweet basil, as well as extra salt. other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Update/Edit: Only 4 stars due to cooking method (would give 4-1/2 if I could). I steam the sweet potatoes on their own so they aren't watery. I mash the white potatoes with the milk/butter + a little sour cream - separately. I rough mash S/P's with 1 T finely minced FRESH rosemary (I don't recommend dried) and fresh Asiago cheese (didn't have parm) and add it all 'in' the potatoes. Salt & pepper both kinds of potatoes and don't use any 'potato' water - why use that? THEN - I gently fold the two types together. I make ahead so these do get baked but covered. I think it looks rather unique since it's kinda two toned and everyone thinks they're delish. Have made several times but go a bit less on the S/P portion to white potato. I prefer white pepper in this vs black. I add fresh ground coriander, nutmeg & couple shakes of ground cayenne in the S potato mix. Nice idea & something easily modified for personal pref, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was awesome! What a rich combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
What an easy and WONDERFUL side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This was delicious! It made my whole apartment smell more homey and comfy. I used fresh rosemary and grated cheddar cheese. I also sprinkled the top of the potatoes with crushed flax seed before I baked it... a nice golden crust was the result. Very good, I'm looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Very bland. The rosemary, parmesan, salt and pepper really needed to be adjusted. My husband and I both agreed that while fine, these potatoes were nothing special, and definitely NOT worth the amount of fat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
One of the best potato dishes ever! I use this recipe many times throughout the year because it goes so well with roast pork, beef, or chicken, and I never change a thing about it. Thank you, this recipe is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
we make these alot, especially around the holidays. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
These did seem to be a a lot of work for a side dish but they were SO tasty. I ate half of them this week and froze the other 5 portions. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States