Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I likes these potatoes, but no one else in my family liked them. (But they really never cared for yams, in the first place.) I sauted some diced garlic in olive oil, as suggested by another reviewer, instead of roasting them. Other than that I made the recipe exactly as stated. Although I liked them, I will not make again just for myself, because I prefer sweetened yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I love this recipe. However, instead of using milk I use a light sour cream. I am a not a huge fan of rosemary so I used fresh chives instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
This recipe was a relief to find, after all the marshmallow/brown sugar/yam recipes on the site! As for the taste, I definitely see the potential here. I think my yams-to-taters ratio was way off, as I found this recipe very "yammy". Also, I have never roasted garlic before, so I think I used only about half of the garlic necessary since I burnt the rest. Also, I found that I used only half the milk called for, and none of the cooking liquid (due to my poor 'tato ratio, maybe?) If you follow the recipe exactly, and aren't quite the clutz I was, you should get something really yummy! In spite of my blunders, my 10 month old son loved these taters -- he gobbled them up! My adult guests, on the other hand, were polite, but did not take seconds. I may try this again, but will definitely be more careful....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I was extremely skeptical about this recipe to begin with, but it turned out just great. This is now one of my favorite recipes!! thanks for such a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I like the potatoes, but my eight guests did not like this recipe at all. This recipe is time consuming and since I am the only one that liked the mashed potatoes and yams - I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Excellent recipe. I made it for Christmas to try to please both the people who wanted yams and the ones who wanted mashed potatoes. It was a hit w/ everyone. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This was a great change from the traditional marshmallow and brown sugar, butter topping on yams. This one is on my table every year now for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I thought this recipe could be tweeked somewhat to incorporate the flavors better, but my husband really liked it. I'm not a big rosemary fan, but loved the texture and garlic flavor of this recipe. Also, it tasted more like potatoes than yams so if I made this again I'd reduce the amount of potato and increase the yam portion by about 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McLani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
As a bunch of young college students having a Thanksgiving away from family, I made this dish just to say we had yams at Thanksgiving. Everyone started with a small spoonful to be nice and then before I knew it half of the dish was gone! It was a hit. I used minced garlic which took away half the time of roasting and I couldn't be more pleased with the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
We had this as opposed to the traditional sweet potato casserole. Everyone loved them!! It was a hit we will certainly repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States