Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams with Garlic and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I smashed an entire head of garlic cloves, put them in a Pyrex custard bowl, and generously drizzled olive oil on top so that there wasn't a dry spot, but they weren't drowning, either. Fresh rosemary is the key to this not being "spiky" when you eat it, or if you only have dry, you can roast it with the garlic (make sure to stir it around so that it's thoroughly coated) so that it infuses into the olive oil, and softens/plumps up a bit. Grated parmesan works in the bottle works, but if you can find finely shredded, you get those cheesy stings that are oh-so-good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
If the usual sweet potatoe dishes are too sweet for your taste...this recipe is the way to go! Lovely rosemary (use fresh) and garlic goes well with turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe: we changed it a little to 2 lbs of potatoes and 1 lb of sweet potato just out of personal preference. The roasted garlic and the hint of rosemary gave this dish a really sophisticated flavour without being too whacky for our Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe is pretty good and shows a lot of potential. I found the leftovers to be tastier, probably b/c the potatos had a day to absorb the garlic taste. I also melted extra stretchy cheese on top of them when I microwaved them. Excellent. I think for the future, I would add a lot more delicious roasted garlic to the amount of potatos. Really appreciate this recipe b/c I've been looking for an alternative to plain white (starchy) mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Yummy. Extra cheese,garlic and fresh rosmary = OMG!!!!! YUMMMMMMM!! Even the 3 yr old fussy bugger loves it lol. perfect healthy and we can use our rosmary tree before it flowers. Don't go near the dried rosmary its tough and just not nice in this dish. printed and in the "Regular cook book" Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baby-dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JR & Tracie
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
this has been the best my we have ever tryed infact my mother has never liked yams her whole life. to say the least, were going to have these yams every thanksgiving now. (if you don't like traditional yam don't give up this one is pretty good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I think this dish is perfect, however I alwasy double the garlic (love the roasted garlic) and double the butter (unhealthy but extra creamy). I don't add extra water and am light on the milk. Plus use fresh rosemary and dice very fine so that it is soft and just the flavor (not texture) comes through in the potatoes. Hope you enjoy as much as we do. Lighter than regular potatoes (the sweet potatoes) make this dish. A popular Thanksgiving dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a weird blend of flavors. It didnt get eaten. The sweetness of the yams with garlic and parmesan just didnt work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Although I didn't love this dish--a little too much garlic for me, my Thanksgiving guests loved it. Use fresh rosemary, it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States