Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams with Garlic and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Oh my these are good! I just made them up through the point where they go in the oven. Now I'll freeze them and heat them on Thursday. I had a bowlful first and will have to exercise self discipline not to eat more. As another reviewer said, they don't really have to be baked - but that step does make them easy to make ahead. The only change I made to the recipe was because I didn't have whole garlic but had the stuff in the jar. I took about 1/4 cup of that, drained it good and then browned it in olive oil and tossed that, olive oil and garlic, into the mashed potato mixture. I also added a little more rosemary than the recipe called for, probably more than a teaspoon. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
You will knock the socks off your family and friends when you make these mashed potatoes. I have made then both in the oven and on the stove top. Either way they rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kingzim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I cut out the olive oil and baked the garlic cloves in aluminum foil for 30 mins at 350. I have made this many times and everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
An amazing substitute to plain old mased potatos. I like to make these for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I'm not a yam fan but Husband is, and he thought these were just ok. Quite a lot of work for not especially spectacular results. I'll probably make this again with regular potatoes and minus the yams. Oh well. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Delish!! Anyone out there that has a little ceramic dish can roast the garlic in the microwave if pressed for time. Drizzle a little olive oil & heat for 1 minute -- you'll be amazed at how little time it takes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this recipe for my parents on Thanksgiving and they loved it. My dad had seconds and asked for all the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Everyone in the family enjoyed these very much, and the leftovers made nice potato pancakes for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States