Rosemary Marlin with Roasted Corn and Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this recipe last night using Marlin and it was fantastic! I made a couple changes: When marinading, I left the rosemary sprig whole so it infused into the oil. I was afraid it would taste too strongly of rosemary if it was chopped in both the relish and on the fish. I did not have cherry tomatoes, so I diced regular tomatoes. I also grilled it on a wood plank for about 10 minutes, then directly on the grill for a few minutes on each side. The relish was a great compliment to the fish! Thanks for the great recipe- I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This four star rating is more for the relish, which was particularly good. The fish, however, not so good. Hubs, the grill master, believes it was the marinading that took away from how good this COULD have been. Once put on the grill, the olive oil just flowed out of the meat, preventing it from browning nicely. He said the filets should be dry, then rubbed lightly with olive oil just before grilling on a hot grill, which would then also require less than the directed time - and they also need a good squeeze of lemon. The relish, on the other hand, was just delicious. Great fresh flavor and colors, but I think it could be put to better use with something other than this fish. I served this with a seasoned couscous, which we've finally concluded we don't like. I should have made the rice pilaf I had originally planned on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was great. Although I did not have fresh rosemary, (I used dried) it still was great. The corn and tomato relish could and WILL be used with other dishes and also just as a side dish. One of the great things about living here in South Dakota at this time of year is the most wonderful tasting sweet corn fresh off the farm. Using sweet corn really gave this relish a nice taste. I did not alter the recipe and I don't feel like I would need to add or take anything out...it's great! 9/17/08 I made the relish as a side dish tonight and it was great....be sure to use sweet corn and not field or frozen corn (or add a touch of sugar to the mix)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is good. I made this with mahi mahi because marlin is harder to find where I live. I liked the rosemary, tomato and corn combination. I went quite a bit lighter on the salt in the salsa than called for and added lemon to both the fish marinade and the salsa - I think this misses a little something without it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
excellent relish for fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The marlin was not very good but the roasted corn and tomatoes were amazing. Marlin is not a very good fish to eat. Mostly a game fish but I thought I would try it when the local fish market had some. It was tough. I think this recipe would be amazing on mahi mahi or swordfish!! Can not wait to try again on a better fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe turned out fantastic! I was a little scared of the rosemary so I put in a little less than the recipe suggested. Bad move - next time I will put in a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
In addition to following the recipe, my husband threw on some hickory wood chips to the grill before putting the fish on. Oh my, the marlin was so smoky and fragrant, it was delicious! The corn/tomato relish complimented the fish perfectly. It's definitely now my favorite way of preparing marlin! YUM! (we also had the most amazingly sweet cherry tomatoes, fresh from our neighbor's tomato patch..... thanks, Paul!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers who say that the corn and tomato relish is amazing! I am sure I will make this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and the corn/tomato mixture turned out EXCELLENT. I ended up mixing it into my rice pilaf side dish.....YUM....I'm making it again tonight. I wasn't thrilled with the marlin, but it was my first time eating Blue Marlin so maybe I'm just not a big fan. I look forward to trying this recipe with Halibut. The corn tomato dish is really excellent, definitely try it- you will be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States