Rosemary Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the best bread recipie. I had to stop making it for a while because we would eat it all in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love making breads like this during the summer when fresh herbs are plentiful right in your own yard and you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for them in the grocery store! Herb breads are SO delicious, and this bread is certainly one of them. What caught my eye in this recipe was the addition of the milk (helps make for a tender bread) and egg (which adds moistness and richness) - and not one egg, but two! I was curious. Knowing that 2-1/2 T. of sugar would make the bread overflow in my bread machine (plus, I don't care for that much sweetener in my breads anyway) I trimmed the sugar down to just 1 tsp. I added a handful of fresh chopped parsley, chives, rosemary, oregano and thyme, and 2 T. of olive oil for the margarine called for. The recipe directs to use the basic white setting, but I wanted a deeper, crunchier crust and chose the French bread setting. The bread was everything I thought it would be - moist, rich, flavorful with a crisp and chewy crust. Delicious, and makes for fabulous sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I just brush on olive oil and salt it and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This has got to be one of the best doughs I've worked with from this site. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this bread, proofing the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in the mixer bowl for ten minutes before adding the butter and eggs, then the dry ingredients. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder to the dough, I made no other changes. This needed a couple more tbsp. of flour to get it together to want to jump on the bread hook. I let it knead for about five minutes with the hook, then set it on my warm oven to rise for about an hour or so. Once it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and set it on the warm oven to rise again. This bread really went to town on the second rise. This took about 30 minutes in a 350* oven. So pretty and very good. This will go well with Turkey Noodle Soup, which is also from this site. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
a bit heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was really great! I made the dough in the bread maker then baked it in the oven (I like the way it looks from the oven.) I also added some parmesan cheese--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Try making tomato sandwiches out of this bread ! This italian loves this stuff .. Only, I used EVO instead of butter, added chopped garlic, used all purpose flour with a little extra yeast and put in lots of rosemary! Oh boy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
The bread was amazing and tasted like what you would be served in a restaurant. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VJOHEYOB
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I loved this recipe. I started it in my bread machine on dough and finished it by hand. I used fresh rosemary but substituted dried herbs for the others. I had to add 1 teaspoon of olive oil and 1-1/2 teaspoons of water after the first 5 minutes in the bread machine. Don't really know why. I shaped it and let it rise 45 minutes glazed the loaf with egg mixed with water and baked it on a bread stone for 15 min.@ 375 degrees. Will make it again, my daughter loved it. I am going to post a picture, I hope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJOHEYOB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Wonderful bread! I made a foccacia bread & cut into chunks to use for a variety of dips for our appetizer table. I followed another reviewer's advice about adding olive oil and a bit of water but otherwise followed the recipe (except I didn't make with a machine, made by hand). Very savory and delicious, will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States