Rosemary Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This has got to be one of the best doughs I've worked with from this site. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this bread, proofing the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in the mixer bowl for ten minutes before adding the butter and eggs, then the dry ingredients. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder to the dough, I made no other changes. This needed a couple more tbsp. of flour to get it together to want to jump on the bread hook. I let it knead for about five minutes with the hook, then set it on my warm oven to rise for about an hour or so. Once it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and set it on the warm oven to rise again. This bread really went to town on the second rise. This took about 30 minutes in a 350* oven. So pretty and very good. This will go well with Turkey Noodle Soup, which is also from this site. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love making breads like this during the summer when fresh herbs are plentiful right in your own yard and you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for them in the grocery store! Herb breads are SO delicious, and this bread is certainly one of them. What caught my eye in this recipe was the addition of the milk (helps make for a tender bread) and egg (which adds moistness and richness) - and not one egg, but two! I was curious. Knowing that 2-1/2 T. of sugar would make the bread overflow in my bread machine (plus, I don't care for that much sweetener in my breads anyway) I trimmed the sugar down to just 1 tsp. I added a handful of fresh chopped parsley, chives, rosemary, oregano and thyme, and 2 T. of olive oil for the margarine called for. The recipe directs to use the basic white setting, but I wanted a deeper, crunchier crust and chose the French bread setting. The bread was everything I thought it would be - moist, rich, flavorful with a crisp and chewy crust. Delicious, and makes for fabulous sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
So yummy! I didn't use a bread machine, so instead I let my yeast set for 5 min, and then I kneaded in my kitchen aid for 10 min. I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of bread flour. Let it rise for almost 1.5 hours and baked at 350 for 35 min. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amazonwoman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The best bread we've made in our new bread machine yet. We're on our third load of this and very satisfied. If anyone is wondering, we used the 1.5lb loaf size setting on our machine for this recipe. We took a guess and it seems to work well. Our machine has options for 1.5lb and 2.0lb. Thanks, Leigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I used extra fresh rosemary, italian spice, olive oil instead of butter, and added a bit of parmesan. I also used 2 cups white whole wheat and 1 cup bread flour with a tbsp of vital gluten for rise. This rose incredibly high as it started baking (set bread maker on dough setting and then baked in the over in a loaf pan for 20 minutes at 350). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I dipped this bread in olive oil with some italian spices in it and it was AMAZING. Didn't have the fresh spices so I added half teaspoon extra of the rosemary for a little extra zing. Also, added 1/2 tablespoon extra of butter, didn't use margarine, just 2 T of butter. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Try making tomato sandwiches out of this bread ! This italian loves this stuff .. Only, I used EVO instead of butter, added chopped garlic, used all purpose flour with a little extra yeast and put in lots of rosemary! Oh boy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Texture marvelous, tastes great (though I'd add more rosemary, for sure), but there was too much dough for my machine - it rose into the lid, and I have a standard machine that can handle up to 2 lb.s. Would be great with some flavored olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! Made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Tastes just like the bread I eat at Cheevers in Okla City.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States