Rosemary Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very flavorful bread. Good combination of fresh and dried herbs really made the flavors come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this as written, with the exception of using dried herbs, once baked in the bread maker and once just on the dough setting in the bread maker and then formed into a loaf, allowed to rise for 20-30 mins and then baked in the oven. It was great both ways, but presentation is obviously better from a regular bread pan than from the bread maker. Oh, and I had to add about 3/4 c milk instead of 2/3 c - maybe from the dry Idaho air - but it would have been pretty crumbly without the extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This bread turned out lovely by and large, but I'll share my methods for making it for those who do NOT have a bread machine. Follow standard mixing methods for other breads. I combined the milk and sugar and warmed it to 110F and added the yeast. Let that sit 5-10 minutes while I beat the eggs and added the salt and herbs to that mixture. (I only used Rosemary and Thyme from my garden. When I do this next time I willl use more salt & Herbs and less sugar) When the milk is nice and foamy from the yeast activating, mix together the milk and egg mixtures. In a mixing bowl have 3 cups of flour ready and add the milk, yeast, egg mixture to the flour. Use one cup of flour to flour your kneading surface. Scrap the dough out onto the flour and begin kneading, slowly working in as much of the flour as you can till the dough starts to really resist you. It should be smooth and elastic and not sticky. Place kneaded dough into a oiled glass or plastic bowl to rise. Let it rise until doubled and when the dough bounces back slowly when you press it with your finger. Place dough again on a lightly floured surface and shape the dough. Then transfer to your greased baking sheet. (I sprinkled Cornmeal on the sheet for extra texture for the dough). Let the dough rise again. I sprinkled grated cheddar on top. Bake 20 minutes till nice and golden brown. Turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Spencer-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hout Bay, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I do not know what happened..... I have used my bread machine a million times and thought i was fool proof by now, but this recipe was disastrous for me... i followed the directions but when the dough cycle on my machine wasa done it was a thick dense crumbly mess??? i added two cupes of water and reran dough cycle...well see what happens..... thinking ill have to throw it way.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This bread was tender with a nice crumbly crust. Will be a good sandwich bread or good texas toast with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used all dried herbs in a pinch. Started it in the bread machine, ended it in the oven. It made my house smell like Macaroni Grill. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Directions for those of us who do not have bread machines would be nice. Especially us novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe is also excellent when shaped into a pan of dinner rolls. Lightly brush garlic and EVOO over tops of rolls before rising. I make my dough in the ABM & then divide the dough for 18 rolls to rise & bake in a 13 X 9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I've made this bread dozens of times without changing the recipe and it's a fantastic eating bread. Not so good for sandwiches, but goes with just about any meal including stews and white sauces, not just Italian dishes. Highly recommended for a newbie to machine bread making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States