Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Tihs bread is a hit with my family. It had a wonderful aroma while baking, and turned out perfect. All golden and crusty on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. However, this bread took 4 hours on the french bread setting in my machine instead of 2, so make sure to plan far enough ahead if using it for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Since I am the bread machine at my house, I adapted this recipe to the old-fashioned method. Using Tunisianswife's suggestions (see her Mediterranean Black Olive Bread review), I proofed the yeast in 1 cup of warm water mixed with the 1 tsp of sugar; added the flour (I used A.P.) and mixed in the remaining ingredients. I kneaded the mixture on a floured surface and probably added another 1/2 to 3/4 cup flour by the time all was kneaded in. Like Tunisianswife, I did 3 risings on this bread, kneading in between, and using her steam-baking idea, baked in a 450 oven (with a pan of water at the bottom to provide steam) for the first 15 minutes, then reduced to 400 & baked another 10-15 minutes. I agree with reviewer Tanaquil as to the texture and gourmet quality of this bread. I have baked breads for many, many years but this is one of the finest I've ever baked. I used 1 T fresh rosemary. The rosemary is a fragrant and subtle addition to the flavor. I was concerned about the amount of garlic, but it was perfect--it baked into mellow goodness. The texture was a soft but chewy interior and crusty exterior that sliced beautifully. My family has requested I make another loaf this week and let it be the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I made this with machine on french bread setting, light crust, and subbed garlic powder(1tsp) and this came out exceptionally well. Chewy crust and super soft, but firm inside. Holds form well for cutting, an overall great recipe with a light herbal taste. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Mmmmm...good! I happened to have fresh rosemary on hand and used that instead of dried. This bread has the most wonderful aroma and mild flavor. I used the left-over bread to make "Garlic Croutons" (found here at AllRecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This happens to be my husband's favourite bread recipe out of the great many I've made and he's been very insistant on my making again and again. I've made it three times so far and was more than impressed the first and this third time. The second time I made it, it didn't turn out as well, as the top of it caved in. I've read some others' reviews and how one person commented that theirs came out too flat and so I feel that I should add that perhaps it was the fault of the maker (myself included the second time) and not the recipe. Bread machines are tricky and if an ingredient isn't measured exact or the temperature not precisely right, things can go wrong. Personally, this is one of my favourite breads to make so far and the aroma alone makes it worthwhile. Perfectly crisp on the outside and soft on the inside with just the right amount of rosemary and garlic! My husband would surely agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
After seeing GRANNYLOOHOO'S picture I just had to make this. I would have liked to make it by hand but as it was a work day, I put it in the breadmaker on timer on the dough cycle. I then shaped the loaf and baked in the oven. I used fresh rosemary instead of the dried. This loaf disappeared in one sitting as we all used it to mop up the remainders of sauce rosee also from this site . Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I was inspired to make this due to the beautiful photo submission of Grannyloohoo's. This is the most amazing bread. i don't have a bread machine so just bloomed yeast in the water with a glob of honey. doubled the recipe and made 2 nice loaves. Replaced butter with EVOO, and used 4 tbsp wheat gluten. I had to add about 1 1/2 cup more bread flour doing it by hand. This bread has the most incredible flavor and very well-balanced; not overpowering at all. crushed 4 cloves of garlic for double recipe. this is one of the most tender breads; so soft on the inside. sprayed the oven in intervals for the first 8 min or so to get that nice crust. Presents so well. If using a conventional oven, I baked at 400 for 25 min.(2 loaves) and it produced a golden brown crust and soft tender crumb. This one sure is a keeper! thanks so much for this recipe. Would go great with Italian or with a good lamb stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
this came out so good! i used "rapid rise" yeast (for bread machines) and it rose beautifully. i used fresh rosemary and kosher salt. the next time i will try with table salt as the kosher was not quite pungent enough. the french bread setting on my machine took 3 hours and 50 minutes so i'll need to plan ahead next time. thank you for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was my first attempt at homemade bread. My husband loves homemade bread and is extremely critical of it. I just took the loaf out of the bread machine about 15 minutes ago. Half of the loaf is already gone. He said he would change absolutely nothing about it!! Great recipe...I will be making it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Followed the directions exactly and it was great. The loaf was a bit smaller than I anticipated, but going by how much it rose during one of the rise cycles, I don't think I'd try to make a bigger loaf in my bread machine. My bread machine has a 4 hour french bread cycle. That is an hour longer than the regular bread cycle. Make sure you check the time required on your machine if timing is a factor. This is a keeper!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States