Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Since I am the bread machine at my house, I adapted this recipe to the old-fashioned method. Using Tunisianswife's suggestions (see her Mediterranean Black Olive Bread review), I proofed the yeast in 1 cup of warm water mixed with the 1 tsp of sugar; added the flour (I used A.P.) and mixed in the remaining ingredients. I kneaded the mixture on a floured surface and probably added another 1/2 to 3/4 cup flour by the time all was kneaded in. Like Tunisianswife, I did 3 risings on this bread, kneading in between, and using her steam-baking idea, baked in a 450 oven (with a pan of water at the bottom to provide steam) for the first 15 minutes, then reduced to 400 & baked another 10-15 minutes. I agree with reviewer Tanaquil as to the texture and gourmet quality of this bread. I have baked breads for many, many years but this is one of the finest I've ever baked. I used 1 T fresh rosemary. The rosemary is a fragrant and subtle addition to the flavor. I was concerned about the amount of garlic, but it was perfect--it baked into mellow goodness. The texture was a soft but chewy interior and crusty exterior that sliced beautifully. My family has requested I make another loaf this week and let it be the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This is a keeper. Makes great lunch sandwiches. (I had to add 1/2 cup of flour and used the medium setting to make it crusty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Tihs bread is a hit with my family. It had a wonderful aroma while baking, and turned out perfect. All golden and crusty on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. However, this bread took 4 hours on the french bread setting in my machine instead of 2, so make sure to plan far enough ahead if using it for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I made this with machine on french bread setting, light crust, and subbed garlic powder(1tsp) and this came out exceptionally well. Chewy crust and super soft, but firm inside. Holds form well for cutting, an overall great recipe with a light herbal taste. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Mmmmm...good! I happened to have fresh rosemary on hand and used that instead of dried. This bread has the most wonderful aroma and mild flavor. I used the left-over bread to make "Garlic Croutons" (found here at AllRecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I was really disappointed in this bread! I tried it twice and both times it rose in the first 'rise' and then fell and came out flat and raw. It was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Pretty bummed with this - the flavor wasn't bad, but the bread was flat, doughy, and just not...good, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was my second time making this recipe. The first time was delicious, but very small. The last time I made it it barely rose at all and was way too dense and rock hard on the outside. My mother-in-law suggested that the fresh garlic might affect the rising...I'm bummed because it's such tasty bread and stumped because of all of the great reviews. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kparker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I just got a bread machine so Im not an experienced user but so far this is my favorite recipe to use for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I needed to add a lot more flour during the kneading cycle, but the end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XPOKEYX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States