Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Followed the directions exactly and it was great. The loaf was a bit smaller than I anticipated, but going by how much it rose during one of the rise cycles, I don't think I'd try to make a bigger loaf in my bread machine. My bread machine has a 4 hour french bread cycle. That is an hour longer than the regular bread cycle. Make sure you check the time required on your machine if timing is a factor. This is a keeper!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was my second time making this recipe. The first time was delicious, but very small. The last time I made it it barely rose at all and was way too dense and rock hard on the outside. My mother-in-law suggested that the fresh garlic might affect the rising...I'm bummed because it's such tasty bread and stumped because of all of the great reviews. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kparker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I made these by hand so maybe that accounts for the difference, but my bread came out kind of dry. Maybe if I'd misted the oven while it baked it would have been more moist, but the crust was dry and the flavor seemed kind of hollow, if that makes any sense. I think I'll stick with my herb bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was my first attempt at homemade bread. My husband loves homemade bread and is extremely critical of it. I just took the loaf out of the bread machine about 15 minutes ago. Half of the loaf is already gone. He said he would change absolutely nothing about it!! Great recipe...I will be making it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
this came out so good! i used "rapid rise" yeast (for bread machines) and it rose beautifully. i used fresh rosemary and kosher salt. the next time i will try with table salt as the kosher was not quite pungent enough. the french bread setting on my machine took 3 hours and 50 minutes so i'll need to plan ahead next time. thank you for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I was inspired to make this due to the beautiful photo submission of Grannyloohoo's. This is the most amazing bread. i don't have a bread machine so just bloomed yeast in the water with a glob of honey. doubled the recipe and made 2 nice loaves. Replaced butter with EVOO, and used 4 tbsp wheat gluten. I had to add about 1 1/2 cup more bread flour doing it by hand. This bread has the most incredible flavor and very well-balanced; not overpowering at all. crushed 4 cloves of garlic for double recipe. this is one of the most tender breads; so soft on the inside. sprayed the oven in intervals for the first 8 min or so to get that nice crust. Presents so well. If using a conventional oven, I baked at 400 for 25 min.(2 loaves) and it produced a golden brown crust and soft tender crumb. This one sure is a keeper! thanks so much for this recipe. Would go great with Italian or with a good lamb stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this bread by hand and it rose beautifully 3 times, but unfortunately when it was baked it did not. It came out quite dense. It is probably just my lack of cooking skills that are to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
After seeing GRANNYLOOHOO'S picture I just had to make this. I would have liked to make it by hand but as it was a work day, I put it in the breadmaker on timer on the dough cycle. I then shaped the loaf and baked in the oven. I used fresh rosemary instead of the dried. This loaf disappeared in one sitting as we all used it to mop up the remainders of sauce rosee also from this site . Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Since I am the bread machine at my house, I adapted this recipe to the old-fashioned method. Using Tunisianswife's suggestions (see her Mediterranean Black Olive Bread review), I proofed the yeast in 1 cup of warm water mixed with the 1 tsp of sugar; added the flour (I used A.P.) and mixed in the remaining ingredients. I kneaded the mixture on a floured surface and probably added another 1/2 to 3/4 cup flour by the time all was kneaded in. Like Tunisianswife, I did 3 risings on this bread, kneading in between, and using her steam-baking idea, baked in a 450 oven (with a pan of water at the bottom to provide steam) for the first 15 minutes, then reduced to 400 & baked another 10-15 minutes. I agree with reviewer Tanaquil as to the texture and gourmet quality of this bread. I have baked breads for many, many years but this is one of the finest I've ever baked. I used 1 T fresh rosemary. The rosemary is a fragrant and subtle addition to the flavor. I was concerned about the amount of garlic, but it was perfect--it baked into mellow goodness. The texture was a soft but chewy interior and crusty exterior that sliced beautifully. My family has requested I make another loaf this week and let it be the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This happens to be my husband's favourite bread recipe out of the great many I've made and he's been very insistant on my making again and again. I've made it three times so far and was more than impressed the first and this third time. The second time I made it, it didn't turn out as well, as the top of it caved in. I've read some others' reviews and how one person commented that theirs came out too flat and so I feel that I should add that perhaps it was the fault of the maker (myself included the second time) and not the recipe. Bread machines are tricky and if an ingredient isn't measured exact or the temperature not precisely right, things can go wrong. Personally, this is one of my favourite breads to make so far and the aroma alone makes it worthwhile. Perfectly crisp on the outside and soft on the inside with just the right amount of rosemary and garlic! My husband would surely agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States