Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This bread was wonderful! I used fresh rosemary, and also added fresh basil. I only used 1 tsp. of minced garlic and it was plenty for us. The borrowed bread maker I used malfunctioned during the first "rise" cycle, so I had to take it out punch it down and then let it rise again in a warm oven. Baked it at 450 for 25 minutes. I was VERY surprised at how firm, yet soft the texture was...enjoyed eating it! I am going to try it in my new bread machine and expect it will be even better when it goes through the whole process the right way. YUM! UPDATE: I just made this again in my new bread machine and it was almost impossible to get out of the pan. I ended up ripping it out and leaving the entire bottom of the loaf stuck in the bottom of the pan. I am going to try and salvage what I can, but I'm not pleased with this. Maybe I could have cooked it for less time, because the bottom was hard and stuck fast to the paddles, but the inside is lovely and it does taste good...have to say that about it, it tastes great and the inside is wonderful! So, I will still rate it 5 stars, for taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendergrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I used my bread machine, which I got 7 years as a wedding gift, for the first time with this recipe. Turned out great. My guests were very impressed. Very flavorful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love this bread! I did have to add a touch of extra flour to it. But it smells sooo good when it is baking and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEMENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this for my first loaf of bread in my new bread machine! It was great with cheese fondue for dinner! I cut down on the garlic a little. It was crusty on the outside and so soft inside. Wonderful... it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I will use this again, but I need to change my cooking time. I don't have a bread machine so I used the advice of doing the steam cooking in the oven. It worked great, except I think the temp. was to high. I might need to adjust for elevation. My family ate the whole loaf without complaint and asked that I make it again. I also didn't add the garlic and rosemary because my kids like jelly on their bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this in my bread machine (3 hrs 40 min. for French cycle). Even though it fell (I think that was my fault) it was delicious. Crispy on the outside and wonderful flavor and chewy texture inside. I used olive oil in place of the butter, added 1/2 cup flour and slightly increased the rosemary. Didn't last long enough to get cold. Will be making this again. Addendum: I made this again the following day and it fell again (not my fault this time) but even as a not so pretty loaf, it is really a good tasting bread. I made paninni sandwiches with it and it's almost gone again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Followed the directions exactly and it was great. The loaf was a bit smaller than I anticipated, but going by how much it rose during one of the rise cycles, I don't think I'd try to make a bigger loaf in my bread machine. My bread machine has a 4 hour french bread cycle. That is an hour longer than the regular bread cycle. Make sure you check the time required on your machine if timing is a factor. This is a keeper!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was my second time making this recipe. The first time was delicious, but very small. The last time I made it it barely rose at all and was way too dense and rock hard on the outside. My mother-in-law suggested that the fresh garlic might affect the rising...I'm bummed because it's such tasty bread and stumped because of all of the great reviews. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kparker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I made these by hand so maybe that accounts for the difference, but my bread came out kind of dry. Maybe if I'd misted the oven while it baked it would have been more moist, but the crust was dry and the flavor seemed kind of hollow, if that makes any sense. I think I'll stick with my herb bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was my first attempt at homemade bread. My husband loves homemade bread and is extremely critical of it. I just took the loaf out of the bread machine about 15 minutes ago. Half of the loaf is already gone. He said he would change absolutely nothing about it!! Great recipe...I will be making it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States